Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 46.2. Motor Vehicles
Chapter 15. Motor Vehicle Dealers
5/23/2017

§ 46.2-1519. License and registration fees; additional to other licenses and fees required by law.

A. The fee for each license and registration year or part thereof shall be determined by the Board, subject to the following:

1. For motor vehicle dealers, not more than $300 for each principal place of business, plus not more than $40 for each supplemental license.

2. For motor vehicle salespersons, not more than $50.

3. For motor vehicle dealers licensed in other states, but not in the Commonwealth, who sell motor vehicles at wholesale auctions, not more than $100.

4. For manufactured home dealers, not more than $100.

5. For watercraft trailer dealers, not more than $100.

The determination of fees by the Board under this subsection shall not be subject to the provisions of the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq.).

B. The licenses, registrations, and fees required by this chapter are in addition to licenses, taxes, and fees imposed by other provisions of law and nothing contained in this chapter shall exempt any person from any license, tax, or fee imposed by any other provision of law.

C. The fee for issuance to a nonprofit organization of a certificate pursuant to subsection B of § 46.2-1508.1 shall be $25 per year or any part thereof.

D. No nonprofit organization granted a certificate pursuant to subsection B of § 46.2-1508.1 shall, either orally or in writing, assign a value to any donated vehicle for the purpose of establishing tax deduction amounts on any federal or state income tax return.

E. The Board may authorize discounts and other incentives to encourage licensees to conduct transactions with the Board (i) by means of electronic technologies and (ii) for multi-year periods.

F. The fee for reprinting licenses, certificates, and registrations shall be $10 for each reprint.

G. The fee for reinstating a license, certificate, or registration that has been suspended shall be $50.

H. The fee for each license and registration year or part thereof for each motor vehicle manufacturer, factory branch, distributor, and distributor branch shall be $100 and shall be paid to the Department.

1988, c. 865, § 46.1-525.010; 1989, c. 727; 1992, c. 148; 1993, c. 122; 1995, cc. 767, 816; 2000, c. 180; 2001, c. 23; 2011, c. 791; 2014, c. 695; 2015, c. 615.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.