Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 4. Conservation and Natural Resources
Agency 25. Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy
Chapter 130. Coal Surface Mining Reclamation Regulations
7/6/2020

4VAC25-130-845.17. Procedures for Assessment of Civil Penalties.

(a) Within 15 days of service of a notice or order, the person to whom it was issued may submit written information about the violation to the division and to the inspector who issued the notice of violation or cessation order. The division shall consider any information so submitted in determining the facts surrounding the violation and the amount of the penalty.

(b) The division shall serve a copy of the proposed assessment and the computation of the proposed assessment on the person to whom the notice or order was issued, by certified mail, or by any means consistent with the Rules of the Supreme Court of Virginia governing service of a summons or complaint, within 30 days of the issuance of the notice or order.

(1) If the mail is tendered at the address of that person set forth in the sign required under 4VAC25-130-816.11 or 4VAC25-130-817.11, or at any address at which that person is in fact located, and the person refuses to accept delivery of or to collect such documents, the requirements of this paragraph shall be deemed to have been complied with upon such tender. It is the permittee's responsibility to ensure the division has his current address.

(2) Failure by the division to serve any proposed assessment within 30 days shall not be grounds for dismissal of all or part of such assessment unless the person against whom the proposed penalty has been assessed—

(i) Proves actual prejudice as a result of the delay; and

(ii) Makes a timely objection to the delay. An objection shall be timely only if made in the normal course of administrative review.

(c) Unless a conference has been requested, the division shall review and reassess any penalty if necessary to consider facts which were not reasonably available on the date of issuance of the proposed assessment because of the length of the abatement period. The division shall serve a copy of any such reassessment in the manner provided in paragraph (b), within 30 days after the date the violation is abated.

Statutory Authority

§§ 45.1-161.3 and 45.1-230 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR480-03-19 § 845.17, eff. December 15, 1981; amended, eff. June 28, 1982; October 28, 1982; December 14, 1982; October 11, 1983; December 27, 1983; May 8, 1984; June 22, 1984; August 2, 1984; October 16, 1985; January 7, 1987; July 22, 1987; November 25, 1987; October 12, 1988; December 26, 1990; July 1, 1991; July 17, 1991; November 20, 1991; July 7, 1992; May 5, 1993; October 19, 1994; Volume 15, Issue 06, eff. January 6, 1999.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.