Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 58.1. Taxation
Chapter 3. Income Tax
11/28/2020

§ 58.1-394.1. Failure of pass-through entity to make a return.

A. Any pass-through entity that fails to file a return required by this article within the time required shall be liable for a penalty of $200 if the failure is for not more than one month, with an additional $200 for each additional month or fraction thereof during which such failure to file continues, not exceeding six months in the aggregate. In no case, however, shall the penalty be less than $200.

B. If any pass-through entity's failure to file a return required by this article exceeds six months, the Department shall assess a penalty of six percent of the total amount of Virginia taxable income derived by its owners from the pass-through entity for the taxable year. The Department may determine such penalty from any information in its possession. The penalty assessed pursuant to this subsection shall be reduced by the penalty assessed pursuant to subsection A and any tax paid by the owners on their share of income from the pass-through entity for the taxable year.

C. The penalties set forth in this subsection shall be assessed and collected by the Department in the manner provided for the assessment and collection of taxes under this chapter or in a civil action, at the instance of the Department. In addition, such pass-through entity shall be compellable by mandamus to file such return.

2004, Sp. Sess. I, c. 3.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.