Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 45.1. Mines and Mining
Chapter 14.2. Coal Mine Safety Act
8/22/2019

§ 45.1-161.39. Surface foreman certification.

A. Applicants for a surface foreman certificate shall be at least 23 years of age and have had at least five years of experience in a coal mine with at least three years of such experience in a surface coal mine. A graduate of an approved course in mining engineering at a baccalaureate institution of higher education shall be given credit for three of the five years of practical experience required. An applicant who possesses a degree in mining technology shall be given credit for two of the five years of required practical experience. Applicants shall demonstrate to the Board of Coal Mining Examiners a thorough knowledge of the theory and practice of surface coal mining by making 85 percent or more on the written examination. In addition, each applicant shall pass the examination in gas detection. The holder of a surface foreman certificate issued by the Board shall be authorized to act as surface foreman at any surface coal mine.

B. Each candidate for certification as a surface foreman shall complete, at a minimum, a 24-hour course of instruction in advanced first aid taught by a certified advanced first aid instructor in accordance with subsection A of § 45.1-161.101, and pass an examination relating thereto approved by the Board of Coal Mining Examiners. No course or examination shall be required of candidates holding a current higher level of emergency medical certification from the Virginia Department of Health.

C. All holders of a surface foreman certification issued prior to July 1, 2010, except those holding a current higher level of emergency medical certification from the Virginia Department of Health, shall complete by December 31, 2011, at a minimum, a 24-hour course of instruction in advanced first aid taught by a certified advanced first aid instructor in accordance with subsection A of § 45.1-161.101.

Code 1950, §§ 45-23, 45-28; 1954, c. 191; 1966, c. 594, § 45.1-12; 1972, c. 784; 1978, c. 729; 1980, c. 442; 1984, c. 237; 1994, c. 28; 2007, cc. 894, 914; 2010, cc. 809, 857.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.