Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 46.2. Motor Vehicles
Chapter 6. Titling and Registration of Motor Vehicles
7/31/2021

§ 46.2-726. License plates with reserved numbers or letters; fees.

The Commissioner may, in his discretion, reserve license plates with certain registration numbers or letters or combinations thereof for issuance to persons requesting license plates so numbered and lettered. However, no such reserved license plates shall be issued to or renewed for any owner or co-owner of a vehicle who is registered pursuant to the Sex Offender and Crimes Against Minors Registry Act (§ 9.1-900 et seq.) if the requested registration numbers or letters or combination thereof could be read, interpreted, or understood to be a reference to children.

License plates with reserved numbers or letters may be issued for and displayed on emergency medical services vehicles operated by emergency medical services agencies.

The annual fee or, in the case of permanent license plates for trailers and semitrailers, the one-time fee, for the issuance of any license plates with reserved numbers or letters shall be $10 plus the prescribed fee for state license plates. If those license plates with reserved numbers or letters are subject to an additional fee beyond the prescribed fee for state license plates, the fee for such special license plates with reserved numbers or letters shall be $10 plus the additional fee for the special license plates plus the prescribed fee for state license plates.

The annual fee for reissuing license plates with the same combination of letters and numbers as license plates that were previously issued but not renewed shall be $10 plus the prescribed fee for state license plates. If those license plates are special license plates subject to an additional fee beyond the prescribed fee for state license plates, the fee shall be $10 plus the additional fee for the special license plates plus the prescribed fee for state license plates.

1972, c. 427, § 46.1-105.2; 1987, c. 696; 1989, c. 727; 1992, c. 141; 1995, c. 747; 1997, cc. 94, 283; 2000, c. 126; 2001, c. 20; 2015, cc. 502, 503; 2016, cc. 143, 430.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.