Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 46.2. Motor Vehicles
Chapter 6. Titling and Registration of Motor Vehicles
10/20/2019

§ 46.2-613. Infractions relating to registration, licensing, and certificates of title; penalties. (2019 updated section)

A. No person shall:

1. Operate, park, or permit the operation or parking of a motor vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer owned, leased, or otherwise controlled by him on a highway unless (i) it is registered, (ii) a certificate of title therefor has been issued, and (iii) it has displayed on it the license plate or plates and decal or decals, if any, assigned to it by the Department for the current registration period, subject to the exemptions mentioned in Article 5 (§ 46.2-655 et seq.) and Article 6 (§ 46.2-662 et seq.). The provisions of this subdivision shall apply to the registration, licensing, and titling of mopeds on or after July 1, 2014.

2. Possess or use any registration card, license plate, or decal to which he is not entitled or knowingly permit the use of any registration card, license plate, or decal by anyone not entitled to it.

3. Willfully and intentionally violate the limitations imposed under §§ 46.2-665, 46.2-666, and 46.2-670 while operating an unregistered vehicle pursuant to the agricultural and horticultural exemptions allowed under those sections. A first violation of this subdivision shall constitute a traffic infraction punishable by a fine of not more than $250, and a second or subsequent violation of this subdivision shall constitute a traffic infraction punishable by a fine of $250.

B. For any summons issued for a violation of this section, the court may, in its discretion, dismiss the summons, where proof of compliance with this section is provided to the court on or before the court date.

Code 1950, § 46-63; 1950, p. 251; 1958, c. 541, § 46.1-64; 1960, c. 79; 1972, c. 609; 1974, c. 400; 1975, c. 124; 1979, c. 620; 1989, c. 727; 1997, c. 283; 1999, c. 212; 2002, c. 93; 2006, cc. 444, 472; 2013, c. 783; 2017, cc. 204, 670; 2018, c. 425; 2019, cc. 71, 79.