Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 46.2. Motor Vehicles
Chapter 6. Titling and Registration of Motor Vehicles
10/23/2019

This section has more than one version with varying effective dates. Scroll down to see all versions.

§ 46.2-706.1. (Effective until January 1, 2020) Insurance and surety companies to furnish certain insurance information. (2019 updated section)

Any liability insurance information relating to individually identified vehicles or persons, received from such companies under this section, shall be considered privileged information and not subject to the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (§ 2.2-3700 et seq.).

Such information shall be used in conjunction with information supplied under § 46.2-706 to verify insurance for motor vehicles certified by their owners to be insured.

Insurance companies licensed to do business in Virginia shall provide to the Department monthly electronic updates of insured information and vehicle descriptions required by the Commissioner when they (i) cancel liability insurance for vehicles registered in Virginia, (ii) add liability insurance for vehicles registered in Virginia, or (iii) provide liability insurance for vehicles registered in Virginia newly satisfying financial responsibility requirements.

1993, c. 949; 1996, cc. 474, 489; 2009, c. 419.

§ 46.2-706.1. (Effective January 1, 2020) Insurance and surety companies to furnish certain insurance information. (2019 updated section)

A. Any liability insurance information relating to individually identified vehicles or persons, received from such companies under this section, shall be considered privileged information and not subject to the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (§ 2.2-3700 et seq.).

B. Such information shall be used in conjunction with information supplied under § 46.2-706 to verify insurance for motor vehicles certified by their owners to be insured.

C. Insurance companies licensed to do business in Virginia shall provide to the Department, electronically in a manner prescribed by the Commissioner, updates within 30 days of a policy change to liability insurance for a vehicle registered in Virginia, including liability insurance that satisfies financial responsibility requirements. A policy change occurs when an insurance company (i) issues liability insurance, (ii) cancels liability insurance, (iii) becomes aware of a lapse in liability insurance, (iv) reissues or reinstates liability insurance, or (v) adds a vehicle to an existing liability insurance policy.

D. Insurance companies licensed to do business in Virginia shall respond electronically in a manner prescribed by the Commissioner to a Department request for acknowledgment of liability insurance within 15 days of receiving the request. Insurance companies shall respond to the request by confirming or denying the existence of a policy with the company.

E. Every update of a policy change concerning a liability insurance policy shall include the following information: vehicle identification number, full name of first named insured, vehicle make, and vehicle model year. If available, the following information shall also be included: date of birth for first named insured, full names and dates of birth for all vehicle operators, and Virginia drivers' license numbers or social security numbers for the first named insured and all vehicle operators.

1993, c. 949; 1996, cc. 474, 489; 2009, c. 419; 2019, cc. 149, 193.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.