12VAC5-481-1090. Reports of Stolen, Lost, or Missing Licensed or Registered Sources of Radiation.
A. Each licensee or registrant shall report to the agency by telephone as follows:
1. Immediately after its occurrence becomes known to the licensee, stolen, lost, or missing licensed or registered radioactive material in an aggregate quantity equal to or greater than 1,000 times the quantity specified in 12VAC5-481-3700;
2. Within 30 days after its occurrence becomes known to the licensee, lost, stolen, or missing licensed or registered radioactive material in an aggregate quantity greater than 10 times the quantity specified in 12VAC5-481-3700 that is still missing; or
3. Immediately after its occurrence becomes known to the registrant, a stolen, lost, or missing radiation machine.
B. Each licensee or registrant required to make a report pursuant to subsection A of this section shall, within 30 days after making the telephone report, make a written report to the agency setting forth the following information:
1. A description of the licensed or registered source of radiation involved, including, for radioactive material, the kind, quantity, and chemical and physical form; and, for radiation machines, the manufacturer, model and serial number, type and maximum energy of radiation emitted;
2. A description of the circumstances under which the loss or theft occurred;
3. A statement of disposition, or probable disposition, of the licensed or registered source of radiation involved;
4. Exposures of individuals to radiation, circumstances under which the exposures occurred, and the possible total effective dose equivalent to persons in unrestricted areas;
5. Actions that have been taken, or will be taken, to recover the source of radiation; and
6. Procedures or measures that have been, or will be, adopted to ensure against a recurrence of the loss or theft of licensed or registered sources of radiation.
C. Subsequent to filing the written report, the licensee or registrant shall also report additional substantive information on the loss or theft within 30 days after the licensee or registrant learns of such information.
D. The licensee or registrant shall prepare any report filed with the agency pursuant to this section so that names of individuals who may have received exposure to radiation are stated in a separate and detachable portion of the report.
§ 32.1-229 of the Code of Virginia.
Derived from Volume 22, Issue 25, eff. September 20, 2006; amended, Virginia Register Volume 24, Issue 18, eff. June 12, 2008; Volume 32, Issue 24, eff. August 25, 2016.
Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.
As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.