Code of Virginia

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Code of Virginia
Title 46.2. Motor Vehicles
Chapter 15. Motor Vehicle Dealers
6/25/2017

§ 46.2-1521. Issuance, expiration, and renewal of licenses and certificates of registration.

A. All licenses and certificates of registration issued under this chapter shall be issued for a period of 12 consecutive months except, at the discretion of the issuing agency, the periods may be adjusted as is necessary to distribute the licenses and certificates as equally as practicable on a monthly basis. The expiration date shall be the last day of the twelfth month of validity or the last day of the designated month. Every license and certificate of registration shall be renewed annually on application by the licensee or registrant and by payment of fees required by law, the renewal to take effect on the first day of the succeeding month.

B. Licenses and certificates of registration issued under this chapter shall be deemed not to have expired if the renewal application and required fees as set forth in this subsection are received by the issuing agency or postmarked not more than 30 days after the expiration date of such license or certificate of registration. Whenever the renewal application is received by the issuing agency or postmarked no more than 30 days after the expiration date of such license or certificate of registration, the license fees shall be 150 percent of the fees provided for in § 46.2-1519.

C. For dealers and salespersons who have served outside of the United States in the armed services of the United States, licenses and certificates issued under this chapter shall be deemed not to have expired if the renewal application and required fees as set forth in § 46.2-1519 are received by the issuing agency or postmarked not more than 60 days from the date they are no longer serving outside the United States and they have:

1. Held a valid license or certificate issued by the issuing agency at the time the person began service in the armed forces outside of the United States;

2. Not performed sales activities during the period of the person's military service; and

3. Submitted to the issuing agency orders or other military documentation demonstrating that they have served outside of the United States in the armed services of the United States and it has been less than 61 days from the date they are no longer serving outside the United States.

Prior to renewing a license or certificate under this subsection, the applicant shall notify the issuing agency of their intentions and verify that they are in compliance with all other requirements established by the issuing agency and set forth in this title.

D. The issuing agency may offer an optional multiyear license. When such option is offered and chosen by the licensee, all annual and 12-month fees due at the time of licensing shall be multiplied by the number of years or fraction thereof for which the license will be issued.

E. The Board may issue a salesperson's license to an applicant, as required by § 46.2-1508, even though the applicant is not employed by a motor vehicle dealer if (i) the applicant has been certified pursuant to § 46.2-1512 and is employed by a person that has contracted in writing with a dealer or dealers to provide temporary personnel for the sale of products and services to include but not be limited to providing payment, financing and leasing alternatives; and offering and selling extended service agreements, prepaid maintenance agreements, and similar products and services that are sold in connection with the sale of a vehicle; provided, however, that such persons do not negotiate for the sale of the vehicle but may complete the required paperwork for the sale of the vehicle in addition to the other products and services being offered or to provide training to salespersons employed by a dealer, and (ii) the applicant meets the other qualifications to be licensed as a salesperson under this chapter. The requirements of §§ 46.2-1518 and 46.2-1537 shall not apply to any such salesperson so licensed, provided that any salesperson so licensed:

1. May only act as a salesperson for a dealer who has a contract with the salesperson's employer as provided in this subsection;

2. Shall carry his license when engaged in business and shall display it upon request; and

3. Need not be the person who signs the buyer's order on behalf of the dealer, but the name of that salesperson shall be listed on the buyer's order in any transaction in which the salesperson engages.

1988, c. 865, § 46.1-525.012; 1989, c. 727; 1990, c. 197; 1995, cc. 767, 816; 1997, c. 848; 1998, c. 325; 2004, c. 975; 2007, c. 828; 2015, c. 615.

The chapters of the acts of assembly referenced in the historical citation at the end of this section may not constitute a comprehensive list of such chapters and may exclude chapters whose provisions have expired.