Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 10. Finance and Financial Institutions
Agency 5. State Corporation Commission
Chapter 120. Money Order Sellers and Money Transmitters
10/15/2019

10VAC5-120-50. Assessment Schedule for the Examination and Supervision of Money Order Sellers and Money Transmitters.

Pursuant to subsection B of § 6.2-1905 of the Code of Virginia, the commission sets the following schedule for the annual assessment to be paid by persons licensed under Chapter 19. The assessment defrays the costs of the examination and supervision of licensees by the bureau.

The annual assessment shall be $0.000047 per dollar of money orders sold and money transmitted by a licensee pursuant to Chapter 19. The assessment shall be based on the dollar volume of business conducted by a licensee, either directly or through its authorized delegates, during the calendar year preceding the year of the assessment as reported by each licensee in (i) the quarterly call reports filed through the registry or (ii) such other written reports as the commissioner may require pursuant to subsection D of § 6.2-1905 of the Code of Virginia. If a licensee fails to fully report its volume information for the prior calendar year by the assessment date, a provisional fee subject to adjustment when the information is reported, shall be assessed.

The amount calculated using the schedule in this section shall be rounded down to the nearest whole dollar.

Fees shall be assessed on or before August 1 for the current calendar year. The assessment shall be paid by licensees on or before September 1.

Fees prescribed and assessed pursuant to this schedule are apart from and do not include the following: (i) the annual license renewal fee of $750 authorized by subsection A of § 6.2-1905 of the Code of Virginia and (ii) the reimbursement for expenses authorized by subsection C of § 6.2-1905 of the Code of Virginia.

Statutory Authority

§§ 6.2-1913 and 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Volume 26, Issue 25, eff. July 27, 2010; amended, Volume 28, Issue 20, eff. June 1, 2012; Volume 31, Issue 12, eff. February 15, 2015; Volume 35, Issue 24, eff. July 15, 2019.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.