Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 10. Finance and Financial Institutions
Agency 5. State Corporation Commission
Chapter 120. Money Order Sellers and Money Transmitters
2/20/2019

10VAC5-120-90. Enforcement.

A. Failure to comply with any provision of Chapter 19 or this chapter may result in civil penalties, license revocation, the entry of a cease and desist order, or other appropriate enforcement action.

B. Pursuant to § 6.2-1920 of the Code of Virginia, a person required to be licensed under Chapter 19 shall be subject to a civil penalty of up to $2,500 for every violation of Chapter 19, this chapter, or other law or regulation applicable to the conduct of the person's business. Furthermore, if a person violates any provision of Chapter 19, this chapter, or other law or regulation applicable to the conduct of the person's business in connection with multiple money order sales or money transmission transactions, the person shall be subject to a separate civil penalty for each money order sale or money transmission transaction. For example, if a person sells five money orders and the person violates two provisions of this chapter in connection with each of the five money order sales, there would be a total of 10 violations and the person would be subject to a maximum civil penalty of $25,000.

Statutory Authority

§§ 6.2-1913 and 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Volume 31, Issue 12, eff. February 15, 2015.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.