Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 12. Health
Agency 30. Department of Medical Assistance Services
Chapter 60. Standards Established and Methods Used to Assure High Quality Care
7/13/2020

12VAC30-60-40. Utilization Control: Nursing Facilities.

A. Long-term care of residents in nursing facilities will be provided in accordance with federal law using practices and procedures that are based on the resident's medical and social needs and requirements. All nursing facility services, including specialized care, shall be provided in accordance with guidelines found in the Virginia Medicaid Nursing Home Manual.

B. Nursing facilities must conduct initially and periodically a comprehensive, accurate, standardized, reproducible assessment of each resident's functional capacity. This assessment must be conducted no later than 14 days after the date of admission and promptly after a significant change in the resident's physical or mental condition. Each resident must be reviewed at least quarterly, and a complete assessment conducted at least annually.

C. The Department of Medical Assistance Services shall periodically conduct a validation survey of the assessments completed by nursing facilities to determine that services provided to the residents are medically necessary and that needed services are provided. The survey will be composed of a sample of Medicaid residents and will include review of both current and closed medical records.

D. Nursing facilities must submit to the Department of Medical Assistance Services resident assessment information at least every six months for utilization review. If an assessment completed by the nursing facility does not reflect accurately a resident's capability to perform activities of daily living and significant impairments in functional capacity, then reimbursement to nursing facilities may be adjusted during the next quarter's reimbursement review. Any individual who willfully and knowingly certifies (or causes another individual to certify) a material and false statement in a resident assessment is subject to civil money penalties.

E. In order for reimbursement to be made to the nursing facility for a recipient's care, the recipient must meet nursing facility criteria as described in 12VAC30-60-300 (Nursing facility criteria). In order for the additional $10 per day reimbursement to be made to the nursing facility for a recipient requiring a specialized treatment bed, the recipient must meet criteria as described in 12VAC30-60-350. Nursing facilities must obtain prior authorization for the reimbursement. DMAS shall provide the additional $10 per day reimbursement for recipients meeting criteria for no more than 246 days annually. Nursing facilities may receive the reimbursement for up to 82 days per new occurrence of a Stage IV ulcer. There must be at least 30 days between each reimbursement period. Limits are per recipient, regardless of the number of providers rendering services. Nursing facilities are not eligible to receive this reimbursement for recipients enrolled in the specialized care program.

In order for reimbursement to be made to the nursing facility for a recipient requiring specialized care, the recipient must meet specialized care criteria as described in 12VAC30-60-320 (Adult ventilation/tracheostomy specialized care criteria) or 12VAC30-60-340 (Pediatric and adolescent specialized care criteria). Reimbursement for specialized care must be preauthorized by the Department of Medical Assistance Services. In addition, reimbursement to nursing facilities for residents requiring specialized care will only be made on a contractual basis. Further specialized care services requirements are set forth below.

In each case for which payment for nursing facility services is made under the State Plan, a physician must recommend at the time of admission, or if later, the time at which the individual applies for medical assistance under the State Plan, that the individual requires nursing facility care.

F. For nursing facilities, a physician must approve a recommendation that an individual be admitted to a facility. The resident must be seen by a physician at least once every 30 days for the first 90 days after admission, and at least once every 60 days thereafter. At the option of the physician, required visits after the initial visit may alternate between personal visits by the physician and visits by a physician assistant or nurse practitioner.

G. When the resident no longer meets nursing facility criteria or requires services that the nursing facility is unable to provide, then the resident must be discharged.

H. Specialized care services.

1. Providers must be nursing facilities certified by the Division of Licensure and Certification, State Department of Health, and must have a current signed participation agreement with the Department of Medical Assistance Services to provide nursing facility care. Providers must agree to provide care to at least four residents who meet the specialized care criteria for children/adolescents or adults.

2. Providers must be able to provide the following specialized services to Medicaid specialized care recipients:

a. Physician visits at least once weekly (after initial physician visit, subsequent visits may alternate between physician and physician assistant or nurse practitioner);

b. Skilled nursing services by a registered nurse available 24 hours a day;

c. Coordinated multidisciplinary team approach to meet the needs of the resident;

d. Infection control;

e. For residents under age 21 who require two of three rehabilitative services (physical therapy, occupational therapy, or speech-language pathology services), therapy services must be provided at a minimum of 90 minutes each day, five days per week;

f. Ancillary services related to a plan of care;

g. Respiratory therapy services by a board-certified therapist (for ventilator patients, these services must be available 24 hours per day);

h. Psychology services by a licensed clinical psychologist, licensed clinical social worker, licensed professional counselor, or licensed clinical nurse specialist-psychiatric related to a plan of care;

i. Necessary durable medical equipment and supplies as required by the plan of care;

j. Nutritional elements as required;

k. A plan to assure that specialized care residents have the same opportunity to participate in integrated nursing facility activities as other residents;

l. Nonemergency transportation;

m. Discharge planning; and

n. Family or caregiver training.

3. Providers must coordinate with appropriate state and local agencies for educational and habilitative needs for Medicaid specialized care recipients who are under the age of 21.

Statutory Authority

§§ 32.1-324 and 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR460-02-3.1300, § 2 C, eff. August 1, 1991; amended, Volume 10, Issue 22, eff. September 1, 1994; Volume 11, Issue 17, eff. July 1, 1995; Volume 12, Issue 16, eff. July 1, 1996; Volume 14, Issue 12, eff. April 1, 1998; Volume 15, Issue 06, eff. January 6, 1999; Volume 20, Issue 19, eff. July 1, 2004; Volume 22, Issue 22, eff. August 9, 2006.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.