Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 12. Health
Agency 30. Department of Medical Assistance Services
Chapter 70. Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates; In-Patient Hospital Care
8/19/2022

12VAC30-70-428. Supplemental payments for private hosptial partners of Type One hospitals.

A. Effective for dates of service on or after October 25, 2011, quarterly supplemental payments will be issued to qualifying private hospitals for inpatient services rendered during the quarter. These quarterly supplemental payments will cease for dates of service on or after the effective date of State Plan amendments authorizing increased payments to qualifying hospitals from the Health Care Provider Rate Assessment Fund established pursuant to § 32.1-331.02 of the Code of Virginia and approved by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.

B. Qualifying criteria. In order to qualify for the supplemental payment, the hospital must be enrolled currently as a Virginia Medicaid provider and must be owned or operated by a private entity in which a Type One hospital has a nonmajority interest.

C. Reimbursement methodology.

1. Hospitals not participating in the Medicaid disproportionate share hospital (DSH) program shall receive quarterly supplemental payments for the inpatient services rendered during the quarter. Each quarterly payment distribution shall occur not more than two years after the year in which the qualifying hospital's entitlement arises. The annual supplemental payments in any fiscal year shall be the lesser of:

a. The difference between each qualifying hospital's inpatient Medicaid billed charges and Medicaid payments the hospital receives for services processed for fee-for-service Medicaid recipients during the fiscal year; or

b. $14,620 per Medicaid discharge for state plan rate year 2012. For future state plan rate years, this number shall be adjusted by inflation based on the Virginia moving average values as compiled and published by Global Insight (or its successor) under contract with the department.

2. Hospitals participating in the Medicaid DSH program shall receive quarterly supplemental payments for the inpatient services rendered during the quarter. Each quarterly payment distribution shall occur not more than two years after the year in which the qualifying hospital's entitlement arises. The annual supplemental payments in any fiscal year shall be the lesser of:

a. The difference between each qualifying hospital's inpatient Medicaid billed charges and Medicaid payments the hospital receives for services processed for fee-for-service Medicaid recipients during the fiscal year;

b. $14,620 per Medicaid discharge for state plan rate year 2012. For future state plan rate years, this number shall be adjusted by inflation based on the Virginia moving average values as compiled and published by Global Insight (or its successor) under contract with the department; or

c. The difference between the limit calculated under § 1923(g) of the Social Security Act and the hospital's DSH payments for the applicable payment period.

D. Limit. Maximum aggregate payments to all qualifying hospitals shall not exceed the available upper payment limit per state fiscal year.

Statutory Authority

§ 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 42 USC § 1396 et seq.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 33, Issue 3, eff. November 17, 2016; amended, Virginia Register Volume 35, Issue 3, eff. November 15, 2018.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.