Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 12. Health
Agency 35. Department Of Behavioral Health And Developmental Services
Chapter 225. Requirements for Virginia Early Intervention System
1/19/2022

12VAC35-225-200. Referral and discharge.

A. The service coordinator shall transmit, with parental permission, child-specific information (e.g., current IFSP), recent assessment findings, and other pertinent records to the appropriate school division in which the child resides as soon as possible after the notification to the local school division to ensure continuity of services.

B. If the child is found eligible for early intervention services more than 45 days but less than 90 days before (i) the child's third birthday or (ii) April 1 when the child will reach the age of eligibility for special education at the beginning of the upcoming school year, then as soon as possible after eligibility is determined, the service coordinator shall provide the notification required in 12VAC35-225-190 C unless the parent objects to such disclosure.

C. If a child is referred to the local early intervention system less than 45 days before the child's third birthday and that child may be eligible for preschool services under Part B, the service coordinator shall, with parental consent, refer the child to the local school division and Virginia Department of Education, but the local early intervention system shall not be required to conduct an eligibility determination, assessment for service planning, or hold an initial IFSP meeting under these circumstances.

D. The service coordinator shall ensure exit ratings on the child outcome indicators required by the U.S. Department of Education, Office of Special Education Programs are completed prior to discharge from Virginia's early intervention system for all children who had an entry rating and who have been in the early intervention system for six months or longer since their initial IFSP.

1. The exit rating shall be done no more than six months prior to the child's exit from Virginia's early intervention system.

2. Any circumstances that prevent completion of exit ratings shall be documented in a contact note.

E. The service coordinator shall ensure that no early intervention services are provided on or after the child's third birthday.

Statutory Authority

§ 2.2-5304 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 32, Issue 10, eff. February 27, 2016.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.