Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 12. Health
Agency 35. Department Of Behavioral Health And Developmental Services
Chapter 225. Requirements for Virginia Early Intervention System
1/24/2022

12VAC35-225-460. Initial certification and recertification processes.

A. To apply for initial certification as an early intervention professional, early intervention specialist, or early intervention case manager, applicants shall:

1. Obtain the designated early intervention certification application package from the department; and

2. Submit a completed and signed application package to the department with:

a. A signed assurance that the applicant will comply with all federal and state early intervention requirements;

b. Documentation of the applicant's educational credentials, professional certification, licensing, endorsement, or other qualification for the practice of his discipline in the Commonwealth of Virginia; and

c. Documentation of the applicant's successful completion of the training required by the department.

B. Any initial certification granted to a person who has made application for state certification, licensure, endorsement, or other qualification in his discipline and is awaiting licensure shall be valid only as long as that person meets the requirements of his discipline to practice in Virginia.

C. Three-year recertification. At least 30 days prior to the expiration of the practitioner's certification period, the certified early intervention practitioner shall submit an application for recertification to the department. This application shall include:

1. Documentation of the practitioner's continuing professional certification, licensing, endorsement, or other qualification for the practice of his discipline in the Commonwealth of Virginia; and

2. Documentation that the practitioner has successfully completed at least 30 hours of continuing learning activities during the three-year certification period. The continuing learning activities shall address one or more of the following: (i) evidenced-based practices in early intervention services; (ii) changes in federal or state law, regulations, or practice requirements; (iii) topics identified on a personal development plan; (iv) training needed for new responsibilities relating to early intervention services; and (v) training required by the department. For each continuing learning activity, documentation shall include a description of the activity and sponsoring organization, if applicable; the date or dates of training; the number of hours; and a copy of a certificate or verification of attendance, if applicable.

Statutory Authority

§ 2.2-5304 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 32, Issue 10, eff. February 27, 2016.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.