Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 12. Health
Agency 5. Department of Health
Chapter 391. Regulations for the Licensure of Hospice
7/10/2020

12VAC5-391-50. License Application; Initial and Renewal.

A. The OLC will provide prelicensure consultation and technical assistance to any person regarding the licensure process. The purpose of such consultation is to explain the regulation and to review an applicant's proposed hospice program plans, forms, and other documents, as they relate to the regulation. Prelicensure consultations can be arranged after an initial application has been filed.

B. Licensure applications are obtained from the OLC. The OLC shall consider an application complete when all requested information and the appropriate fee, stated in 12VAC5-391-70, are submitted. If the OLC finds the application incomplete, the applicant will be notified in writing of the incomplete application.

An incomplete application shall become inactive six months after it is received by the OLC. Applicants must reapply for licensure with a completed application and application fee. An application for a license may be withdrawn at any time.

C. A completed application for initial licensure must be submitted at least 60 days prior to the hospice program's planned opening date to allow the OLC time to act on the application.

D. The activities and services of each applicant or licensee of a hospice license shall be subject to an inspection by the OLC to determine if the hospice program is in compliance with the provisions of this chapter and state law. Hospice programs submitting an initial application shall receive an announced inspection prior to accepting patients.

E. Licenses are renewed annually. The OLC shall make renewal applications available at least 60 days prior to the expiration date of the current license.

F. The hospice program shall submit the completed renewal application form along with any required attachments and the application fee by the date indicated in the cover letter. Providers operating dedicated hospice facilities shall include a copy of the facility deficiency report and plan of correction from their latest facility licensure inspection when applying to renew their hospice program license.

G. It is the hospice program's responsibility to complete and return the renewal application to assure timely processing. Should a current license expire before a new license is issued, the current license shall remain in effect provided a complete and accurate application was filed on time.

H. Providers operating a dedicated hospice facility shall maintain compliance with the applicable licensure regulations described in 12VAC5-391-120. Failure to maintain compliance may be taken into consideration in the OLC decision to renew a hospice program license.

Statutory Authority

§§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-162.5 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Volume 21, Issue 23, eff. November 1, 2005; amended, Virginia Register Volume 24, Issue 11, eff. March 5, 2008.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.