Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 12. Health
Agency 5. Department of Health
Chapter 490. Virginia Radiation Protection Regulations: Fee Schedule
8/9/2020

12VAC5-490-10. Registration Fees.

A. All operators or owners of diagnostic x-ray machines used in the healing arts and capable of producing radiation shall pay the following registration fee:

1. $100 for each machine and additional tubes that have a required annual inspection, collected annually; and

2. $100 for each machine and additional tubes that have a required inspection every three years, collected every three years.

B. All operators or owners of therapeutic x-ray, particle accelerators, and teletherapy machines used in the healing arts capable of producing radiation shall pay the following annual registration fee:

1. $100 for each machine with a maximum beam energy of less than 500 KVp;

2. $100 for each machine with a maximum beam energy of 500 KVp or greater.

C. All operators or owners of baggage, cabinet or analytical, or industrial x-ray machines capable of producing radiation shall pay the following annual registration fee:

1. $40 for each machine used for baggage inspection;

2. $50 for each machine identified as cabinet or analytical; and

3. $100 for each machine used for industrial radiography.

D. Where the operator or owner of the aforementioned machines is a state agency or local government, that agency is exempt from the payment of the registration fee.

Statutory Authority

§ 32.1-229.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR355‑20‑02 § 1, eff. January 1, 1989; amended, Volume 25, Issue 11, eff. March 4, 2009; Volume 33, Issue 21, eff. July 12, 2017; Volume 35, Issue 10, eff. February 7, 2019.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.