Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 17. Libraries and Cultural Resources
Agency 10. Department of Historic Resources
Chapter 30. Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit
1/26/2020

17VAC10-30-120. Qualification for Credit.

Credits against tax shall be available for the material rehabilitation of a certified historic structure. Material rehabilitation means improvements or reconstruction consistent with the Standards for Rehabilitation, the cost of which amounts to at least 50% of the assessed value of the buildings for local real estate tax purposes for the year before the start of rehabilitation, unless the building is an owner-occupied building, in which case the cost shall amount to at least 25% of the assessed value of such building for local real estate tax purposes for the year before such rehabilitation expenses were incurred. An owner-occupied building is any building, at least 75% of which is used as a personal residence by the owner, or which is available for occupancy by the owner for at least 75% of the year. The assessed value of the building for local real estate tax purposes does not include any assessment for land. The determination of whether a rehabilitation has been material shall be made at the entity level, not at the partner or shareholder level.

Example 1. Certified historic structure has a 2012 tax assessment of $20,000 for the land, $80,000 for the building and a 2013 assessment of $20,000 for the land, $70,000 for the building. Taxpayer submits a plan of rehabilitation on December 1, 2013. Taxpayer applies for a building permit for work to be done in accordance with the plan of rehabilitation on December 15, 2013. Taxpayer incurs eligible rehabilitation expenses in the amount of $37,500 pursuant to the plan of rehabilitation. Rehabilitation is completed in 2015. Taxpayer is not entitled to a tax credit because taxpayer's eligible rehabilitation expenses ($37,500) do not exceed 50% of the assessed value of the building in the year prior to the start of rehabilitation ($40,000).

Example 2. Same facts as above, except taxpayer applies for the building permit on January 2, 2014. Eligible rehabilitation expenses ($37,500) exceed 50% of the assessed value of the building in the year prior to the start of rehabilitation ($35,000). Therefore, taxpayer is entitled to a credit of 20% (for completion in 2015) of $37,500.

Statutory Authority

§§ 10.1-2202 and 58.1-339.2 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Volume 22, Issue 13, eff. April 5, 2006; amended, Virginia Register Volume 32, Issue 10, eff. February 10, 2016.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.