Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 17. Libraries And Cultural Resources
Agency 10. Department Of Historic Resources
Chapter 30. Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit
1/25/2021

17VAC10-30-80. Fees for processing rehabilitation certification requests.

A. Fees are charged for reviewing rehabilitation certification requests in accordance with the following schedule:

Rehabilitation Costs

Part 2 Review Fee

Part 3 Review Fee

Less than $100,000

$250

$250

$100,000 - $249,999

$500

$500

$250,000 - $499,999

$1,000

$1,000

$500,000 - $999,999

$2,000

$2,000

$1,000,000 - $1,999,999

$4,000

$4,000

$2,000,000 - $3,499,999

$5,000

$5,000

$3,500,000 - $4,999,999

$7,000

$7,000

$5,000,000 and above

$8,000

$8,000

B. The department generally completes reviews of certification requests within 30 days of receiving a complete, adequately documented application. Upon request, if the current workload at the department permits, the department may review complete, fully documented applications within five business days. The director reserves the right to refuse requests for expedited review if the current workload at the department so warrants. Fees are charged for such expedited review in accordance with the following schedule:

Rehabilitation Costs

Expedited Review Fee

Less than $100,000

$500

$100,000 - $249,999

$1,000

$250,000 - $499,999

$2,000

$500,000 - $999,999

$4,000

$1,000,000 - $1,999,999

$8,000

$2,000,000 - $3,499,999

$10,000

$3,500,000 - $4,999,999

$14,000

$5,000,000 and above

$16,000

C. Payment of fees for review of Parts 2 and 3 shall be made to the Department of Historic Resources when the applications are submitted. Certification decisions will not be issued until the appropriate remittances are received. This includes all additional fees required if the project expenses exceed the cost estimate stated in the Part 2. Payment of fees for expedited review shall be submitted with the request for expedited review, and review shall not commence until such fee is paid. Fees are nonrefundable, except in cases where the request for expedited review is refused.

D. In general, each rehabilitation of a separate certified historic structure will be considered a separate project for purposes of computing the size of the fee. Phased projects incur separate Part 3 fees for each phase.

Statutory Authority

§§ 10.1-2202 and 58.1-339.2 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Volume 22, Issue 13, eff. April 5, 2006; amended, Virginia Register Volume 32, Issue 10, eff. February 10, 2016.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.