Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 18. Professional And Occupational Licensing
Agency 10. Board For Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified Interior Designers And Landscape Architects
Chapter 20. Board for Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified Interior Designers and Landscape Architects Regulations
6/26/2022

18VAC10-20-680. Reinstatement.

A. Applicants whose license, certificate, or main office registration has expired for more than six months, and applicants whose branch office registration has expired for more than 30 days, shall be required to submit a reinstatement application, which shall be evaluated by the board to determine if the applicant remains qualified to be a regulant of the board.

B. Applicants whose license or certificate has expired for more than five years shall be required to reapply for licensure or certification on the initial application and document experience from the date of expiration of the license or certificate to the present.

C. The board may require an exam, additional continuing education, or experience for architects, professional engineers, land surveyors, landscape architects, and interior designers whose license or certificate has expired for more than five years.

D. The board may deny reinstatement of a license, certificate, or registration for the same reasons as it may refuse initial licensure, certification, or registration or for the same reasons that it may discipline a regulant for noncompliance with the standards of practice and conduct, as well as the continuing education requirements, contained in this chapter. The applicant has the right to request further review of any such action by the board under the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).

E. The date the reinstatement fee is received in the board's office shall determine the amount to be paid pursuant to the following requirements:

1. Branch office registrations that have expired for more than 30 days shall require a reinstatement fee that shall equal the renewal fee plus $30.

2. Licenses, certificates, and main office registrations that have expired for more than six months, but less than five years, shall require a reinstatement fee that shall equal the renewal fee plus $100.

3. Licenses, certificates, and main office registrations that have expired for more than five years shall require a reinstatement fee that shall equal the renewal fee plus $250.

F. Licensees shall remain under the disciplinary authority of the board at all times, regardless of whether the license is reinstated, pursuant to § 54.1-405 of the Code of Virginia.

G. A certificate or registration holder who reinstates shall be regarded as having been current and without interruption and under the authority of the board.

H. Failure to pay any monetary penalty, reimbursement of cost, or other fee assessed by consent order or final order shall result in a delay or withholding of services provided by the department such as, but not limited to, renewal, reinstatement, processing a new application, or exam administration.

Statutory Authority

§§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-404 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR130-01-2 § 11.2, eff. October 18, 1985; amended, Virginia Register Volume 4, Issue 8, eff. March 1, 1988; Volume 6, Issue 20, eff. September 1, 1990; Volume 7, Issue 14, eff. May 8, 1991; Volume 8, Issue 7, eff. February 1, 1992; Volume 10, Issue 15, eff. May 19, 1994; Volume 13, Issue 23, eff. October 1, 1997; Volume 16, Issue 3, eff. December 1, 1999; Volume 18, Issue 7, eff. March 1, 2002; Volume 23, Issue 1, eff. February 1, 2007; Volume 25, Issue 12, eff. April 1, 2009; Volume 32, Issue 6, eff. January 1, 2016; Volume 37, Issue 24, eff. September 2, 2021.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.