Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 18. Professional and Occupational Licensing
Agency 130. Real Estate Appraiser Board
Chapter 20. Real Estate Appraiser Board Rules and Regulations
9/18/2019

18VAC130-20-190. Standards of Conduct for Certified Appraiser Education Instructors.

A. Instructors shall develop a record for each student which shall include the student's name and address, the course name, the course hours and dates given, and the date the course was passed. This record shall be retained by the course provider.

B. The instructor shall not solicit information from any person for the purpose of discovering past licensing examination questions or questions which may be used in future licensing examinations.

C. The instructor shall not distribute to any person copies of license examination questions, or otherwise communicate to any person license examination questions, without receiving the prior written approval of the copyright owner to distribute or communicate those questions.

D. The instructor shall not, through an agent or otherwise, advertise its services in a fraudulent, deceptive or misrepresentative manner.

E. Instructors shall not take any appraiser licensing examination for any purpose other than to obtain a license as a real estate appraiser.

F. Prohibited acts.

1. The instructor shall act as a certified general real estate appraiser, certified residential real estate appraiser, or licensed residential real estate appraiser in such a manner as to safeguard the interests of the public and shall not engage in improper, fraudulent, or dishonest conduct.

2. The instructor may not have been convicted, found guilty, or pled guilty, regardless of adjudication, in any jurisdiction of the United States of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude or of any felony there being no appeal pending therefrom or the time for appeal having elapsed. Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for the purposes of this subdivision. A certified copy of a final order, decree, or case decision by a court with the lawful authority to issue such order, decree, or case decision shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such guilt.

3. The instructor shall inform the board in writing within 30 days of pleading guilty or nolo contendere or being convicted or found guilty, regardless of adjudication, of any felony or of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude.

4. The instructor may not have had a license or certification as a real estate appraiser that has been (i) suspended, revoked, or surrendered in connection with a disciplinary action or (ii) the subject of discipline in any jurisdiction.

5. The instructor shall inform the board in writing within 30 days of the suspension, revocation, or surrender of an appraiser license or certification in connection with a disciplinary action in any other jurisdiction, and a licensee shall inform the board in writing within 30 days of any appraiser license or certification that has been the subject of discipline in any jurisdiction.

6. The instructor, who is also a licensed appraiser, shall perform all appraisals in accordance with Virginia Fair Housing Law (§ 36-96.1 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).

7. The instructor shall respond to an inquiry by the board or its agents within 21 days.

8. The instructor shall not provide false, misleading, or incomplete information in the investigation of a complaint filed with the board.

Statutory Authority

§§ 54.201 and 54.1-2013 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR583-01-03 § 4.4, eff. April 15, 1992; amended, Volume 11, Issue 04, eff. January 1, 1995; Volume 31, Issue 20, eff. August 1, 2015.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.