Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 18. Professional And Occupational Licensing
Agency 15. Virginia Board For Asbestos, Lead, And Home Inspectors
Chapter 30. Virginia Lead-Based Paint Activities Regulations
12/3/2022

18VAC15-30-380. Length of training courses.

A. The length of training courses are as follows:

1. The training course for lead inspector shall last a minimum of 24 training hours, with a minimum of eight hours devoted to hands-on training activities.

2. The training course for lead risk assessor shall last a minimum of 16 training hours with a minimum of four hours devoted to hands-on training activities. As a prerequisite, the 24 training hours provided for in subdivision 1 of this subsection for lead inspector shall be required.

3. The training course for lead project designer shall last a minimum of eight training hours. As a prerequisite, the 32 training hours provided for in subdivision 4 of this subsection for lead abatement supervisor shall be required.

4. The training course for lead abatement supervisor shall last a minimum of 32 training hours, with a minimum of eight hours devoted to hands-on activities.

5. The training course for lead abatement worker shall last a minimum of 16 training hours, with a minimum of eight hours devoted to hands-on activities.

6. All lead refresher courses shall last a minimum of eight training hours, except the project designer refresher course which shall last a minimum of four training hours.

B. In no case shall actual training exceed eight hours during any single 24-hour period, exceed four hours when conducted during evening hours (after 5 p.m. and before 8 a.m.) except training that is conducted during the student's normal second or third shift working hours, or exceed 16 hours during any weekend (Friday after 5 p.m. to Monday 8 a.m.).

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-501 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 13, Issue 2, eff. November 13, 1996; amended, Virginia Register Volume 19, Issue 24, eff. October 1, 2003.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.