Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 18. Professional And Occupational Licensing
Agency 41. Board For Barbers And Cosmetology
Chapter 20. Barbering and Cosmetology Regulations
12/2/2022

18VAC41-20-140. Fees.

The following fees apply:

FEE TYPE

AMOUNT DUE
September 1, 2022, through August 31, 2024

AMOUNT DUE
September 1, 2024, and after

WHEN DUE

Individuals:

Application

$90

$105

With application

License by Endorsement

$90

$105

With application

Renewal:

Barber

$90

$105

With renewal card prior to expiration date

Master Barber

$90

$105

With renewal card prior to expiration date

Cosmetologist

$90

$105

With renewal card prior to expiration date

Nail Technician

$90

$105

With renewal card prior to expiration date

Wax Technician

$90

$105

With renewal card prior to expiration date

Reinstatement

$180*
*includes $90 renewal fee and $90 reinstatement fee

$210*
*includes $105 renewal fee and $105 reinstatement fee

With reinstatement application

Instructors:

Application

$110

$125

With application

License by Endorsement

$110

$125

With application

Renewal

$110

$150

With renewal card prior to expiration date

Reinstatement

$220*
*includes $110 renewal fee and $110 reinstatement fee

$300*
*includes $150 renewal fee and $150 reinstatement fee

With reinstatement application

Facilities:

Application

$165

$190

With application

Renewal

$165

$190

With renewal card prior to expiration date

Reinstatement

$330*
*includes $165 renewal fee and $165 reinstatement fee

$380*
*includes $190 renewal fee and $190 reinstatement fee

With reinstatement application

Schools:

Application

$185

$220

With application

Add Program

$100

$100

With application

Renewal

$185

$220

With renewal card prior to expiration date

Reinstatement

$370*
*includes $185 renewal fee and $185 reinstatement fee

$440*
*includes $220 renewal fee and $220 reinstatement fee

With reinstatement application

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 19, Issue 18, eff. July 1, 2003; amended, Virginia Register Volume 27, Issue 23, eff. September 1, 2011; Volume 30, Issue 10, eff. March 1, 2014; Volume 32, Issue 24, eff. September 1, 2016; Volume 33, Issue 9, eff. February 1, 2017; Volume 34, Issue 22, eff. June 25, 2018; Volume 35, Issue 12, eff. April 1, 2019; Volume 36, Issue 21, eff. September 1, 2020; Volume 38, Issue 25, eff. September 1, 2022.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.