Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 18. Professional and Occupational Licensing
Agency 48. Common Interest Community Board
Chapter 30. Condominium Regulations
1/29/2020

18VAC48-30-570. Return of Assessment Bond or Letter of Credit to Declarant.

A. The declarant of a condominium required to post a bond or letter of credit pursuant to § 55.1-1968 of the Code of Virginia shall maintain such bond or letter of credit for all units registered with the board until the declarant owns less than 10% of the units in the condominium and is current in the payment of assessments. For condominiums containing less than 10 units, the bond or letter of credit shall be maintained until the declarant owns only one unit.

B. The declarant shall submit a written request to the board for the return of the bond or letter of credit. The written request shall attest that the declarant (i) owns less than 10% of the units or for condominiums containing less than 10 units, that the declarant owns only one unit and (ii) is current in the payment of assessments. The written request shall provide contact information for the unit owners' association.

C. Upon receipt of the written request from the declarant, the board shall send a request to the unit owners' association to confirm the information supplied by the declarant. The person certifying the information on behalf of the unit owners' association must not be affiliated with the declarant. The managing agent may confirm the information supplied by the declarant.

D. The board shall return the bond or letter of credit to the declarant if (i) the unit owners' association confirms that the declarant is current in the payment of assessments and owns less than 10% of the units in the condominium or (ii) no response is received from the unit owners' association within 90 days. The 90-day time frame in clause (ii) of this subsection may be extended at the discretion of the board.

E. If the unit owners' association attests the declarant is not current in the payment of assessments, the board shall retain the bond or letter of credit until evidence is received satisfactory to the board that the declarant is current in the payment of assessments.

F. The board may ask for additional information from the unit owners' association or the declarant as needed to confirm compliance with § 55.1-1968 of the Code of Virginia.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2349 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Volume 31, Issue 20, eff. August 1, 2015; amended, Virginia Register Volume 36, Issue 06, eff. December 31, 2019.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.