Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 18. Professional And Occupational Licensing
Agency 65. Board of Funeral Directors And Embalmers
Chapter 20. Regulations Governing the Practice of Funeral Services
5/25/2024

18VAC65-20-231. Requirements for a funeral director license by examination.

A. To qualify for licensure as a funeral director, a person shall:

1. Be at least 18 years of age and hold a high school diploma or its equivalent;

2. Have completed a funeral service or funeral directing internship as prescribed by the board in regulation;

3. Have graduated from a school of mortuary science or funeral service accredited by the American Board of Funeral Service Education, Incorporated or have completed an associate's degree or its equivalent, which consists of at least 60 credit hours of coursework, of which at least 30 hours shall be from a funeral directing program approved by the board;

4. Have successfully completed coursework in the area of pathology as approved by the board;

5. Have passed the National Board Examination in Arts or State Board Examination in Arts of the International Conference of Funeral Service Examining Boards; and

6. Have passed the Virginia State Board Examination on the laws, rules, and regulations for funeral practice.

B. Applicants shall submit school transcripts and National Board Examination or State Board Examination scores as part of an application package, including the required fee and any additional documentation as may be required to determine eligibility.

C. The board, in its discretion, may license an individual convicted of a felony if such individual has successfully fulfilled all conditions of sentencing, been pardoned, or has had his civil rights restored. The board may refuse to license an individual who has a criminal or disciplinary proceeding pending against him in any jurisdiction in the United States.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 39, Issue 6, eff. December 7, 2022.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.