Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 18. Professional And Occupational Licensing
Agency 65. Board of Funeral Directors And Embalmers
Chapter 40. Regulations for the Funeral Service Internship Program
2/8/2023

18VAC65-40-320. Reports to the board.

A. The intern, the supervisor or supervisors, and the establishment shall submit a written report to the board at the end of every 1,000 hours of training. The report shall:

1. Specify the period of time in which the 1,000 hours has been completed and verify that the intern has actually served in the required capacity during the preceding period; and

2. Be received in the board office no later than 14 days following the end of the completion of 1,000 hours.

B. If the internship is terminated or interrupted prior to completion of 1,000 hours or if the intern is changing supervisors or training sites, the intern and the supervisor shall submit a partial report to the board with a written explanation of the cause of program termination or interruption or of the change in training or supervision.

1. The partial report shall provide the amount of time served and the dates since the last reporting period. Credit for partial reports shall be given for the number of hours of training completed.

2. Partial reports shall be received in the board office no later than 14 days after the interruption or termination of the internship or after the change in supervisors or training sites.

C. An intern shall not receive credit for training hours on a new 1,000-hour report until the previous 1,000-hour report has been approved by the board.

D. Credit shall not be allowed for any period of internship that has been completed more than three years prior to application for license or more than five years prior to examination for license. If all requirements for licensure are not completed within five years of initial application, the board may deny an additional internship. A funeral directing or an embalming intern may continue to practice for up to 90 days from the completion of internship hours or until the intern has taken and received the results of all examinations required by the board. However, the board may waive such limitation for any person in the armed service of the United States when application for the waiver is made in writing within six months of leaving service or if the board determines that enforcement of the limitation will create an unreasonable hardship.

Statutory Authority

§ 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR320-01-04 § 2.20, eff. October 9, 1991; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 14, eff. May 3, 1995; Volume 15, Issue 7, eff. January 20, 1999; Volume 22, Issue 21, eff. July 26, 2006; Volume 23, Issue 12, eff. March 21, 2007; Volume 29, Issue 25, eff. September 26, 2013; Volume 39, Issue 6, eff. December 7, 2022.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.