Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 18. Professional And Occupational Licensing
Agency 85. Board of Medicine
Chapter 150. Regulations Governing the Practice of Behavior Analysis
6/20/2024

18VAC85-150-100. Continuing education requirements.

A. In order to renew an active license, a behavior analyst shall attest to having completed 32 hours of continuing education and an assistant behavior analyst shall attest to having completed 20 hours of continuing education as approved and documented by a sponsor recognized by the BACB within the last biennium. Four of the required hours shall be related to ethics in the practice of behavior analysis. Up to two continuing education hours may be satisfied through delivery of behavioral analysis services, without compensation, to low-income individuals receiving services through a local health department or a free clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery of health services. One hour of continuing education may be credited for three hours of providing such volunteer services. For the purpose of continuing education credit for voluntary service, the hours shall be approved and documented by the health department or free clinic.

B. A practitioner shall be exempt from the continuing education requirements for the first biennial renewal following the date of initial licensure in Virginia.

C. The practitioner shall retain in his records the completed form with all supporting documentation for a period of four years following the renewal of an active license.

D. The board shall periodically conduct a random audit of its active licensees to determine compliance. The practitioners selected for the audit shall provide all supporting documentation within 30 days of receiving notification of the audit.

E. Failure to comply with these requirements may subject the licensee to disciplinary action by the board.

F. The board may grant an extension of the deadline for continuing education requirements, for up to one year, for good cause shown upon a written request from the licensee prior to the renewal date.

G. The board may grant an exemption from all or part of the requirements for circumstances beyond the control of the licensee, such as temporary disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared disasters.

Statutory Authority

§§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2957.16 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 30, Issue 16, eff. May 7, 2014; amended, Virginia Register Volume 33, Issue 12, eff. March 8, 2017.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.