Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 19. Public Safety
Agency 30. Department of State Police
Chapter 190. Regulations Relating to the Issuance of Nonresident Concealed Handgun Carry Permits
4/13/2024

19VAC30-190-140. Appeal process.

If the applicant is denied a nonresident concealed handgun permit and does not believe that he has a previous conviction or other disqualification that renders him ineligible, he may contact the Firearms Transaction Center to discuss the ineligible determination and/or to provide additional information deemed pertinent to the final determination of eligibility.

Any person denied a permit and not satisfied with the explanation provided by the Firearms Transaction Center may appeal such denial to the Superintendent of State Police provided that any such action is initiated within 30 days of the denial by the State Police. Such appeal must be in writing, setting forth any grounds that the applicant wishes to be considered. The Superintendent of State Police shall consider each such appeal, and will notify the applicant in writing of his decision within five business days after the day on which the appeal is received.

Any person denied a permit for inaccurate or false information may not reapply for a period of 12 months following the date of final denial determination by the Superintendent.

Statutory Authority

§ 18.2-308.06 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 24, Issue 11, eff. March 6, 2008.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.