Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 19. Public Safety
Agency 30. Department of State Police
Chapter 220. Virginia Methamphetamine Precursor Information System
5/24/2022

19VAC30-220-20. Exemptions from electronic reporting.

A. Pharmacies are exempt from entering purchase information into the methamphetamine precursor tracking system when the sale of products containing ephedrine, pseudoephedrine, or phenylpropanolamine or their salts or isomers, or salts of isomers is sold pursuant to a prescription written by a licensed authorized practitioner.

B. A pharmacy or retail distributor pursuant to § 18.2-265.8 of the Code of Virginia that lacks broadband access or maintains a sales volume of less than 72 grams of ephedrine or related compounds in a 30-day period may be temporarily exempt from the requirement to report transactions to the electronic system if an exemption is granted by the Department of State Police pursuant to § 18.2-265.8 C of the Code of Virginia.

1. In order to be granted an exemption, a pharmacy or retail distributor must submit a written request on the Electronic Reporting Exemption Application provided by the Department of State Police that shall include the following information:

a. The reason for the exemption; and

b. The anticipated duration for which the exemption will be required.

2. An exemption from electronic reporting may not exceed one year.

3. A retailer may request additional exemptions by submitting the form defined in subdivision 1 of this subsection at least 30 days before the current exemption expires.

4. For all sales transactions involving the sale or attempted sale of a restricted product occurring during the period of an exemption at the time of the sale or attempted sale, the retailer shall record into a written logbook, the information required under § 18.2-265.8 A 6 of the Code of Virginia.

5. The written logbook of each sale or attempted sale shall be available for inspection by any law-enforcement officer or board inspector during normal business hours.

6. A pharmacy or retail distributor exempt from electronic reporting shall comply with the provisions of § 18.2-265.10 of the Code of Virginia unless exempted pursuant to § 18.2-265.11 of the Code of Virginia.

C. The Department of State Police will respond in writing to all exemption requests. The response will contain a determination if the exemption is granted or denied and either the duration of the exemption or the reason for denial.

Statutory Authority

§ 18.2-265.8 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 28, Issue 25, eff. January 1, 2013.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.