Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 22. Social Services
Agency 40. Department of Social Services
Chapter 141. Licensing Standards for Independent Foster Homes
5/31/2020

22VAC40-141-130. Medical Care of Children.

A. The provider shall have the name, address and telephone number of each child's physician easily accessible.

B. The provider shall have first aid supplies easily accessible to adults in the home, but not accessible to children under the age of 13.

C. First aid supplies shall include:

1. Scissors;

2. Tweezers;

3. Sterile nonstick gauze pads;

4. Adhesive bandages in assorted sizes;

5. A sealed package of alcohol wipes or antiseptic cleansers;

6. A thermometer;

7. A chemical cold pack if an ice pack is not available;

8. First aid instruction manual or cards;

9. An insect bite or sting preparation;

10. One triangular bandage;

11. Current activated charcoal and syrup of ipecac to be used only when instructed by the regional poison control center or child's physician;

12. Flexible roller or stretch gauze;

13. Disposable nonporous gloves; and

14. An eye dressing or pad.

D. The provider shall receive medical history information, including:

1. Immunizations received; and

2. Documentation for each child at the time of placement of a physical examination of the child completed within 90 days before placement, or the child shall receive a physical examination within 30 days after placement. The current form required by the Virginia Department of Health or any other form which provides the same information to report immunizations received and the results of the physical examination shall be used.

Exception: If a child's parent objects to the child receiving immunizations or a physical examination on religious grounds, the parent must submit a signed statement noting the objection on religious grounds and certifying to the best of the parent's knowledge, the status of the child's health.

E. The provider shall ensure that the child receives necessary medical care and follow-up.

F. The provider shall:

1. Give prescription drugs to children in care only in accordance with an order signed by a licensed physician or authentic prescription label; and

2. Keep all prescription and nonprescription medications inaccessible to children under the age of 13 and stored as instructed by the physician or pharmacist.

a. The provider shall keep in the child's record daily documentation of all prescription and nonprescription medication administered to a child in care.

Exception: Providers are not required to record the amount of diaper ointment or sunscreen applied.

b. Out-of-date and unused medications shall be properly discarded or returned to the child's parent or guardian.

G. The provider may permit self-administration of medication by a child in care if:

1. The child is physically and mentally capable of properly taking medication without assistance.

2. The provider maintains a written statement from the parent or a physician documenting the child's capacity to take medication without assistance.

3. The provider assures that the child's medications and any other medical supplies are not accessible to children under the age of 13.

H. The provider shall report all major illnesses, injuries, accidents, missing children, the death of a child, and any placement of a child outside of the foster home within 24 hours to:

1. The licensing representative; and

2. The child's parent.

I. If the provider is not able to contact the parent or guardian, attempted contacts shall be documented.

J. The provider shall receive written authorization for routine and emergency medical and dental care for each child.

Statutory Authority

§§ 63.2-217 and 63.2-1734 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Volume 15, Issue 10, eff. March 3, 1999; amended, Virginia Register Volume 21, Issue 06, eff. February 1, 2005; Volume 22, Issue 10, eff. February 22, 2006.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.