Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 22. Social Services
Agency 40. Department of Social Services
Chapter 201. Permanency Services - Prevention, Foster Care, Adoption and Independent Living
5/19/2024

22VAC40-201-190. Virginia Birth Father Registry.

A. The department shall establish and maintain a putative father registry that is a confidential database.

B. A search of the Virginia Birth Father Registry shall be conducted for all adoptions except when the child has been adopted according to the laws of a foreign country or when the child was placed in Virginia from a foreign country for the purpose of adoption in accordance with § 63.2-1104 of the Code of Virginia.

C. Any petitioner who files a petition for termination of parental rights or for an adoption proceeding shall request a search of the Virginia Birth Father Registry. The certificate of search and finding must be filed with the court before an adoption or termination of parental rights proceeding can be concluded.

D. Any man who desires to be notified of an adoption proceeding or termination of parental rights regarding a child that he may have fathered shall register with the Virginia Birth Father Registry.

E. A registration is timely when it is received by the department within:

1. 10 days of the child's birth, unless written notice has been provided prior to the child's birth and the time period for registration under subsection 2 of this subsection applies or discovery of a misrepresentation has occurred and the time period for registration under subsection 3 of this subsection applies;

2. 10 days of the date of personal service of the written notice required under subsection F of § 63.2-1250 or within 13 days of the date of such written notice when sent by certified mail with proof of service or express mail with proof of delivery, whichever occurs first; or

3. 10 days upon the registrant's discovery of misrepresentation by the birth mother that led him to believe that (i) the pregnancy was terminated or the mother miscarried when in fact the baby was born or (ii) the child died when in fact the child is alive. However, registration within 10 days of discovery of such misrepresentations shall be considered untimely if 180 days have elapsed from the date the circuit court entered the final order of adoption.

F. The department may require additional information to determine that the individual requesting information from the Virginia Birth Father Registry is eligible to receive information in accordance with § 63.2-1251 of the Code of Virginia.

Statutory Authority

§§ 63.2-217 and 63.2-319 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 29, Issue 2, eff. November 1, 2012; amended, Virginia Register Volume 37, Issue 19, eff. June 10, 2021; Volume 39, Issue 4, eff. November 10, 2022.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.