Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 23. Taxation
Agency 10. Department of Taxation
Chapter 112. Declaration of Estimated Income Tax by Individuals
12/1/2022

23VAC10-112-20. Declarations of estimated tax; requirement of declaration.

A. Every resident and nonresident individual shall make a declaration of his estimated tax for every taxable year, if his estimated tax, as defined in 23VAC10-112-10, is greater than $150. This requirement of declaration is in effect throughout the entire taxable year.

B. A taxpayer is not required to file a declaration if:

1. His estimated tax is $150 or less; or

2. He is single and his expected Virginia adjusted gross income is less than $5,000; or

3. He is married and the combined expected Virginia adjusted gross income of the couple is less than $8,000; or

4. He is not required to file a Virginia income tax return pursuant to the provisions of § 58.1-342 of the Code of Virginia.

EXAMPLE 1: Taxpayer A is employed to render domestic service in the local chapter of a college fraternity. The wages he receives are not subject to withholding under subdivision 2 of § 58.1-460 of the Code of Virginia. His only other income consists of interest and dividend payments. His total Virginia adjusted gross income for the taxable year is expected to be less than $5,000. Because his estimated Virginia adjusted gross income will be less than the minimum amount specified under § 58.1-321 of the Code of Virginia subjecting him to taxation, he is not required to file a declaration.

EXAMPLE 2: Assume that Taxpayer A, in addition to his income above, also works in the local grocery store and taxes are withheld from his wages. His total Virginia adjusted gross income from both jobs exceeds $5,000 for the year. Therefore, he is subject to taxation and is required to file a return. If his estimated tax for the year exceeds his withholding and any other credits by more than $150, he must file a declaration of estimated tax.

Statutory Authority

§§ 58.1-203 and 58.1-490 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR630-2-490.2 § 1; adopted September 19, 1984, eff. January 1, 1985; amended, eff. February 1, 1989, but retroactive in effect for taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 1987.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.