Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 23. Taxation
Agency 10. Department of Taxation
Chapter 140. Income Tax Withholding

23VAC10-140-40. Other methods of withholding.

The Commissioner may grant permission to employers who do not desire to use the withholding tax tables provided in accordance with 23VAC10-140-30, to determine the amount of tax to be withheld by use of a method of withholding other than withholding tax tables, provided such method will withhold from each employee substantially the same amount of tax as would be withheld by use of the withholding tax tables. Employers who desire to determine the amount of tax to be withheld by a method other than by use of the withholding tax tables shall obtain permission from the Commissioner before the beginning of a payroll period for which the employer desires to withhold the tax by such other method. Applications to use such other method must be accompanied by evidence establishing the need for the use of such method.

The following formula has been approved for computing the amount of Virginia income tax to be withheld by employers who process their payrolls on electronic data processing equipment:


G = Gross pay for pay period

P = Pay periods per year

E = Total personal exemptions claimed on VA-4

A = Annualized taxable income

T = Tax to be withheld for pay period

W = Annualized tax to be withheld

Pay Period Conversion (P)


= 1


= 24


= 2


= 26


= 4


= 52


= 12


= 300


1. A = (G)P - [$650 + (600)E]

2. If A is:

W is:

Not over $3,000

2% of A


But not

of excess

$ 3,000

$ 5,000

$ 60 + 3%

$ 3,000

$ 5,000


$120 + 5%

$ 5,000



$470 + 5 3/4%


3. T = W / P

Example: John Q. Taxpayer claims his wife and three children for Virginia withholding purposes. He had $400 in gross wages for the SEMI-MONTHLY pay period.


A = (G)P - [$650 + (600)E]

A = (400) 24 - [650 + (600)5]

A = 9,600 - (650 + 3,000)

A = 9,600 - 3,650 = 5,950


W = 167.50


W / P = T

167.50/24 = 6.98




= tax to be withheld for pay period

Statutory Authority

§§ 58.1-203 and 58.1-463 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR630-6-463, eff. January 1, 1985.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.