Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 23. Taxation
Agency 10. Department Of Taxation
Chapter 210. Retail Sales and Use Tax
2/25/2021

23VAC10-210-670. Gift certificates.

The sale of a gift certificate is not taxable. When the owner of a gift certificate redeems it, in whole or in part, for tangible personal property, the transaction is a taxable sale. For example, if the owner of a gift certificate valued at $25 purchases a $15 pair of shoes, the tax on the $15 sale must be collected by the dealer and paid to the department. When the owner redeems the remaining $10 value of the certificate, the tax on the sale must be collected at that time by the dealer.

Statutory Authority

§ 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR630-10-44; revised January 1979; amended, eff. July 1, 1993.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.