Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 4. Conservation and Natural Resources
Agency 25. Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy
Chapter 130. Coal Surface Mining Reclamation Regulations
7/5/2020

4VAC25-130-773.11. Requirements to Obtain Permits.

(a) All operations. No person shall engage in or carry out any surface coal mining operations, unless such person has first obtained a permit issued by the division, except as provided for in Paragraph (b) of this section. A permittee need not renew the permit if no surface coal mining operations will be conducted under the permit and solely reclamation activities remain to be done. Obligations established under a permit continue until completion of surface coal mining and reclamation operations, regardless of whether the authorization to conduct surface coal mining operations has expired or has been terminated, revoked, or suspended.

(b) Continued operations under Federal program permits.

(1) A permit issued by the Director of the OSM pursuant to a Federal program for the Commonwealth shall be valid under any superseding State program approved by the Secretary.

(2) The Federal permittee shall have the right to apply to the division for a State permit to supersede the Federal permit.

(3) The division may review a permit issued pursuant to the superseded Federal program to determine that the requirements of the Act and the approved State program are not violated by the Federal permit, and to the extent that the approved State program contains additional requirements not contained in the Federal program for the State, the division shall--

(i) Promptly issue an order requiring the permittee to comply with such additional requirements within 60 days of the issuance of the order, unless the permittee demonstrates to the division that it is physically impossible to meet those additional requirements within 60 days, or unless the division agrees to a longer period under an established time schedule;

(ii) Notify the permittee, in writing, of the right to a hearing with respect to the order. A request for hearing must be filed in writing with the division within 30 days of issuance of the order; and

(iii) Provide the permittee a reasonable time to conform ongoing surface coal mining and reclamation operations to the requirements of the State program.

Statutory Authority

§§ 45.1-161.3 and 45.1-230 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR480-03-19 § 773.11, eff. December 15, 1981; amended, eff. June 28, 1982; October 28, 1982; December 14, 1982; October 11, 1983; December 27, 1983; May 8, 1984; June 22, 1984; August 2, 1984; October 16, 1985; January 7, 1987; July 22, 1987; November 25, 1987; October 12, 1988; December 26, 1990; July 1, 1991; July 17, 1991; November 20, 1991; July 7, 1992; May 5, 1993; October 19, 1994.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.