Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 4. Conservation And Natural Resources
Agency 25. Department of Energy
Chapter 20. Board of Coal Mining Examiners Certification Requirements
7/7/2022

4VAC25-20-20. General requirements.

A. Applicants shall submit the Application for Certification Examination, Form DM-BCME-1.

B. Applicants shall submit the Verification of Work Experience Form DM-BCME-2 and documentation of experience for approval by the chief if required for the certification. This information shall be signed by a company official knowledgeable of the experience of the applicant and shall be notarized.

C. Applicants shall submit a valid standard or advanced first aid certificate or card, first responder card, MSHA Form 5000-23 with the new miner training or annual refresher portion completed, or Emergency Medical Technician Certification except where noted. First aid shall be a component of training and examination for all certifications issued by the BCME.

D. Applicants shall submit documentation of all degrees, continuing education, and other training if required for certification.

E. Applicants shall submit a $10 fee to take each examination or to retake all or part of an examination.

F. The Application for Certification Examination and the applicable fees shall be submitted at least five working days prior to the examination.

G. Applicants shall fulfill the requirements of this section and accumulate the required years of experience no later than five years after passing the examination.

H. Those applicants not meeting the requirements of subsection G of this section shall begin the application process again, submitting a new application, taking the examination again, and paying the fee. A work experience form shall only be submitted if the applicant needs to update information.

I. Certificate holders shall notify the division office within 90 days of a change in their name, their mailing address, or the status of any certification required by this chapter. Failure to do so may prevent the division from notifying the certificate holder of the certification requirements. The last known address reported to the division will be used to mail notices and information.

Statutory Authority

§§ 45.1-161.28, 45.1-161.29, and 45.1-161.34 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR480-04-2 § 1.2, eff. June 30, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 13, Issue 22, eff. August 20, 1997; Volume 20, Issue 23, eff. August 25, 2004.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.