Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 4. Conservation And Natural Resources
Agency 25. Department Of Mines, Minerals And Energy
Chapter 35. Certification Requirements for Mineral Miners
9/16/2021

4VAC25-35-40. Renewal requirements.

A. The division will send renewal notices to the last known address of the certificate holder at least 180 days prior to the expiration of the certificate. Certified persons shall apply for renewal of certificates by submitting an application for renewal and verification of work experience in a form acceptable to the division no more than 180 days prior to the expiration of their certificate. The application shall be submitted in time to be received at least five working days prior to the date of the examination or refresher class.

B. Certified persons, except mine inspectors, who have worked in the classification for which they are certified for a cumulative minimum of 24 months in the last five years shall select one of two options to renew their certificates; either take an examination or complete a refresher class on any changes in regulations and law since the initial certification or the certificate was last renewed.

C. Certified persons shall take the examination described in 4VAC25-35-20 if their certificate has expired, they have not worked in the classification for which they are certified for a cumulative minimum of 24 months in the last five years, or the division has issued the individual violations that have not been corrected.

D. Successful completion of the mine inspector renewal shall suffice for renewing the mine foreman certification.

E. Applicants for renewal of certifications shall hold a valid first aid certificate to renew their certification.

F. Applicants shall submit a $10 fee for the examination or the refresher class which shall be received at least five working days prior to the examination or class. Cash will be accepted if paying in person at a department office.

Statutory Authority

§ 45.1-161.292:19 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 12, Issue 8, eff. February 7, 1996; amended, Virginia Register Volume 20, Issue 23, eff. August 25, 2004; Volume 28, Issue 21, eff. July 18, 2012; Volume 30, Issue 6, eff. January 3, 2014.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.