Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 6. Criminal Justice and Corrections
Agency 20. Department of Criminal Justice Services
Chapter 174. Regulations Relating to Private Security Services Registered Personnel
1/21/2020

6VAC20-174-30. Fingerprint Processing.

Part III
Criminal History Records Search

A. On or before the first date of hire, each person applying for a private security registration shall submit to the department:

1. One completed fingerprint card provided by the department or another electronic method approved by the department;

2. A fingerprint processing application;

3. The applicable, nonrefundable fee; and

4. All criminal history conviction information on a form provided by the department.

B. The department shall submit those fingerprints to the Virginia State Police for the purpose of conducting a Virginia Criminal History Records search and a National Criminal Records search to determine whether the individual or individuals have a record of conviction.

C. Fingerprint cards found to be unclassifiable will suspend all action on the application pending the resubmission of a classifiable fingerprint card. The applicant shall be so notified in writing and must submit a new fingerprint card within 30 days of notification before the processing of his application shall resume. If a fingerprint card is not submitted within the 30 days, the initial fingerprint application process will be required to include applicable application fees.

D. If the applicant is denied by DCJS, the department will notify the applicant by letter regarding the reasons for the denial. The compliance agent will also be notified in writing by DCJS that the applicant has been denied.

E. Fingerprint applications will be active for 120 days from the date of submittal. Applications for registrations must be submitted within that 120-day period or initial fingerprint submittal will be required.

Statutory Authority

§ 9.1-141 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Volume 31, Issue 25, eff. September 9, 2015.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.