Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 6. Criminal Justice and Corrections
Agency 20. Department of Criminal Justice Services
Chapter 230. Regulations Relating to Special Conservator of the Peace
1/18/2020

6VAC20-230-140. Registered Individual Administrative Requirements.

A. A registered individual shall:

1. Conform to all requirements pursuant to the Code of Virginia and this chapter;

2. Maintain at all times with the department his mailing address, email address and phone number, if applicable. Written notification of any address change, email address or phone number shall be in writing and received by the department no later than 10 days after the effective date of the change;

3. Inform the department in writing within 10 days after pleading guilty or nolo contendere or being convicted or found guilty of any felony or a misdemeanor;

4. Inform the department in writing within 10 days after having been found guilty by any court or administrative body of competent jurisdiction to have violated the special conservator of the peace statutes or regulations of that jurisdiction, there being no appeal therefrom or the time for appeal having elapsed;

5. Inform the department of any incident in which any registrant has discharged a firearm while on duty, excluding any training exercise. This report shall be made within 24 hours of the incident;

6. Within 10 days, inform the department and circuit court where the individual was appointed that the individual has left employment;

7. Submit documentation of jurisdiction of appointment to the department within 30 days from appointment of the circuit court; and

8. Notify the department and the chief law-enforcement officer of all localities in which he is authorized to serve within three days of becoming prohibited from possessing, transporting, or purchasing a firearm, or otherwise becoming ineligible for registration or appointment as a special conservator of the peace.

B. An individual's appointment from the circuit court shall not exceed four years under any one appointment.

Statutory Authority

§ 9.1-150.2 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Volume 21, Issue 26, eff. October 5, 2005; amended, Virginia Register Volume 33, Issue 04, eff. November 16, 2016.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.