Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 6. Criminal Justice and Corrections
Agency 20. Department of Criminal Justice Services
Chapter 230. Regulations Relating to Special Conservator of the Peace
8/6/2020

6VAC20-230-160. Entry-Level Training.

A. Each individual applying to the department for registration as a special conservator of the peace must meet the mandated entry-level training herein established unless provided for otherwise in accordance with this chapter.

B. The entry-level training hour requirement by category, excluding examinations, practical exercises and range qualification, shall be:

1. Unarmed special conservator of the peace – 24 hours

2. Armed special conservator of the peace – 40 hours

C. The entry-level training course content by category, excluding range qualification, shall be as provided in this subsection.

1. Unarmed special conservator of the peace. The entry-level curriculum for unarmed special conservator of the peace sets forth the following areas identified as:

a. Orientation – 2 hours

(1) Virginia law and regulations

(2) Ethics and professional conduct

(3) General duties and responsibilities

(4) Registration and training requirements

(5) Disciplinary actions and sanctions

b. Code of Virginia – 4 Hours

(1) Juvenile law

(2) Crimes against peace and order

(3) Crimes against persons

(4) Crimes against property

(5) Crimes against health and safety

(6) Crimes involving fraud

c. Constitutional law, civil law, due process, legal procedure – 4 hours

(1) United States Constitution

(2) Virginia Constitution

(3) Legal terminology and definitions

(4) Limitations and liability

(5) Magistrates, grand jury and courts

d. Arrest procedures – 8 hours

(1) Legal authority and related issues

(2) Probable cause

(3) Laws of arrests

(4) Warrants

(5) Summons

e. Use of force – 4 hours

(1) Confrontation management

(2) Liability issues

(3) Deadly force

(4) Use of restraints

f. Rules of evidence – 1 hour

(1) Types of evidence

(2) Chain of custody

(3) Admissibility of evidence

g. Court room testimony – 1 hour

Total hours – 24 hours

2. Armed special conservator of the peace.

a. Unarmed special conservator of the peace core subjects – 24 hours

b. Entry-level handgun training (refer to 6VAC20-230-190) – 14 hours (includes dry fire, judgmental shooting and low-level light shooting familiarization)

c. Entry-level shotgun training, if applicable (refer to 6VAC20-230-200) – 2 hours

Total hours (excluding examinations and range qualification) – 40 hours

Statutory Authority

§ 9.1-150.2 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Volume 21, Issue 26, eff. October 5, 2005; Errata, 22:2 VA.R. 296 October 3, 2005.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.