Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 6. Criminal Justice and Corrections
Agency 20. Department of Criminal Justice Services
Chapter 230. Regulations Relating to Special Conservator of the Peace
9/19/2020

6VAC20-230-90. Reinstatement.

A. Individuals who do not renew their registration on or before the expiration date may not work as a special conservator of the peace until reinstatement requirements have been met. Pursuant to the Code of Virginia, all such persons must currently be registered with the department as a special conservator of the peace.

B. A renewal application must be received by the department within 60 days following the expiration date of the registration in order to be reinstated by the department providing all renewal requirements have been met. The department shall not reinstate renewal applications received after the 60-day reinstatement period has expired. It is unlawful to operate without a valid registration during the reinstatement period. The department shall not reinstate a registration that has become null and void due to not maintaining required insurance. The department will notify the court when an individual has not met the registration renewal requirements with the department. Prior to reinstatement, the following shall be submitted to the department:

1. The appropriate renewal application and completion of renewal requirements including required training pursuant to this chapter; and

2. The applicable, nonrefundable reinstatement fee.

C. A registration shall be renewed or reinstated only when all renewal application requirements are received by the department. After the 60-day reinstatement period, an applicant shall meet all initial application requirements, including applicable training requirements.

D. Following submittal of all reinstatement requirements, the department will process and may approve any application for reinstatement pursuant to the renewal process for the application.

Statutory Authority

§ 9.1-150.2 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Volume 21, Issue 26, eff. October 5, 2005; amended, Virginia Register Volume 32, Issue 26, eff. September 22, 2016.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.