Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 6. Criminal Justice and Corrections
Agency 20. Department of Criminal Justice Services
Chapter 250. Regulations Relating to Property and Surety Bail Bondsmen
8/3/2020

6VAC20-250-230. Reporting Requirements.

A. Each licensed bail bondsman shall report within 10 calendar days to the department any change in his residence, name, business name or business address and ensure that the department has the names and all fictitious names of all companies under which he carries out his bail bonding business.

B. Each licensed bail bondsman arrested for a felony shall submit a copy of the warrant of arrest within seven days to the department.

C. Each licensed bail bondsman arrested for or convicted of a felony shall report within 10 calendar days to the department the facts and circumstances regarding the criminal arrest or conviction.

D. Each licensed bail bondsman shall report to the department, within 10 calendar days of the final disposition, of the matter any administrative action taken against him by another governmental agency in the Commonwealth or in another jurisdiction. Such report shall include a copy of the order, consent to order or other relevant legal documents.

E. Each licensed bail bondsman shall report to the department within 24 hours any event in which he discharges a firearm during the course of his duties.

F. Each licensed property bail bondsman shall submit to the department, on a prescribed form, not later than the fifth day of each month, a list of all outstanding bonds on which he was obligated as of the last day of the preceding month, together with the amount of the penalty of each such bond.

G. Each licensed property bail bondsman shall report to the department any change in the number of agents in his employ within seven days of such change and concurrently provide proof of collateral of $200,000 for each new agent, in accordance with subsection C of § 9.1-185.5 of the Code of Virginia.

H. Each licensed agent bail bondsman shall report to the department termination of his employment within seven days of such termination.

I. Each licensed property bail bondsman shall report to the department within five business days any change in legal ownership or if any new lien, encumbrance, or deed of trust is placed on any real estate that is being used as collateral on his or his agents' bonds as well as the amount it is securing. The reporting requirement deadline is deemed to begin as soon as the licensed property bail bondsman learns of any change in legal ownership or of the new lien, encumbrance, or deed of trust, or should have reasonably known of the change in legal ownership or that such a lien, encumbrance, or deed of trust had been recorded.

J. Each licensed surety bail bondsman shall report to the department within 30 days any change in his employment or agency status with a licensed insurance company. If the surety bail bondsman receives a new qualifying power of attorney from an insurance company, he shall forward a copy thereof within 30 days to the department, in accordance with subdivision D 2 of § 9.1-185.5 of the Code of Virginia.

Statutory Authority

§§ 9.1-102 and 9.1-185.2 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Volume 24, Issue 23, eff. August 20, 2008; Errata, 24:25 VA.R. 3686 August 18, 2008; amended, Virginia Register Volume 31, Issue 23, eff. August 12, 2015.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.