Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 6. Criminal Justice And Corrections
Agency 35. Department (Board) of Juvenile Justice
Chapter 71. Regulation Governing Juvenile Correctional Centers
7/2/2022

6VAC35-71-60. Serious incident reports.

A. The following events shall be reported as soon as practicable, but no later than 24 hours after the incident, and in accordance with department procedures to the director or his designee:

1. Any serious illness, incident, injury, or accident involving injury of a resident;

2. Any absence from the facility without permission; and

3. All other situations required by written procedures.

B. As appropriate and applicable, the facility shall, as soon as practicable, but no later than 24 hours after the incident, and in accordance with written procedures, report the incidents listed in subsection A of this section to (i) the parent or legal guardian and (ii) the supervising court service unit or agency.

C. Any incident involving the death of a resident shall be reported to the individuals specified in subsections A and B of this section without undue delay.

D. The facility shall prepare and maintain a written report of the events listed in subsections A and C of this section which shall contain the following information:

1. The date and time the incident occurred;

2. A brief description of the incident;

3. The action taken as a result of the incident;

4. The name of the person who completed the report;

5. The name or identifying information of the person who made the report to the supervising agency and to the parent or legal guardian; and

6. The name or identifying information of the person to whom the report was made, including any law enforcement or child protective service personnel.

E. The resident's record shall contain a written reference (i) that an incident occurred and (ii) of all applicable reporting.

F. In addition to the requirements of this section, any suspected child abuse and neglect shall be governed by 6VAC35-71-70 (suspected child abuse or neglect).

Statutory Authority

§§ 16.1-309.9, 66-10, and 66-25.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 29, Issue 25, eff. January 1, 2014.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.