Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 8. Education
Agency 115. College of William And Mary; Richard Bland College
Chapter 10. Motor Vehicles Parking and Traffic Regulations
4/22/2024

8VAC115-10-410. Schedule of fines; payment policy.

A. Schedule of fines.

Violation

If Paid Within
10 Working Days

If Paid After
10 Working Days

No Valid Decal

$25

$30

Handicapped Space

$25

$30

Towed - Special Event

$25

$30

Illegal Parking:

Firelane

$10

$15

Reserved Space

$10

$15

Expired Meter

$10

$15

No Parking Zone

$10

$15

Vendor's Space

$10

$15

Improper Display

$10

$15

Overtime

$10

$15

Visitor's Space

$10

$15

Sidewalk/Crosswalk/Grass

$10

$15

Improper Parking/Other

$10

$15

B. The following policy establishes the accepted payment methods for outstanding parking fines:

1. Payment may be made by cash, personal check, cashier's check, money order, credit card (VISA or Master Card only) or William and Mary debit card.

2. Owners of vehicles that have been towed must pay all outstanding fines and fees using payment methods described in item 1 above. Additionally, the owner must pay the towing contractor the towing fee and any storage fees. If payment is made at Campus Police, they can accept forms of payment mentioned in item 1, with the exception of the William and Mary debit card.

3. Employees at the York River Campus may mail checks, money orders or cashier's checks to the Office of Parking Services. Checks should be made payable to the College of William and Mary. Alternatively, they may use the courier provided by Administrative Services.

C. Wheellock policy.

Vehicle owners with a vehicle that is wheellocked must pay all outstanding fines, plus a $20 wheellock fee, within 48 hours of the wheellock. Acceptable payment methods are as described in B 1 of this section, with the exception that the debit card may only be used when paying at Parking Services from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m., Monday through Friday. Vehicles wheellocked in excess of 48 hours will be towed to a private, licensed garage. Vehicles generally become eligible for wheellock when there are three or more outstanding tickets which have not been paid or appealed within 14 days of the date of the ticket. Vehicles with two tickets which have not been paid within 30 days of the date of the ticket are also eligible for wheellock.

Statutory Authority

§ 23-9.2:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from VR187-01-02 § 6.7, eff. January 12, 1994; amended, Virginia Register Volume 11, Issue 18, eff. May 1, 1995.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.