Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 8. Education
Agency 20. State Board Of Education
Chapter 23. Licensure Regulations for School Personnel
5/12/2021

8VAC20-23-320. Driver education (add-on endorsement).

Endorsement requirements. The candidate shall have:

1. Earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally accredited college or university and hold a license issued by the Virginia Board of Education with a teaching endorsement in a teaching area; and

2. Completed an approved teacher preparation program in driver education; or

3. Earned a baccalaureate degree from a regionally accredited college or university and hold a license issued by the Virginia Board of Education with a teaching endorsement in a teaching area; and completed 6 semester hours of coursework distributed in the following areas:

a. Driver Task Analysis, including instructional strategies as prescribed in the Curriculum and Administrative Guide for Driver Education in Virginia (http://www.doe.virginia.gov/instruction/driver_education/curriculum_admin_guide/index.shtml); understanding the highway transportation system; applying Virginia's motor vehicle laws; personal, legal, and emotional factors; visual and sensory perception; risk perception and risk management; space management and other defensive driving techniques; environmental, financial, and other vehicle ownership responsibilities; vehicle technologies; and the scientific principles of the driving tasks: 3 semester hours; and

b. Principles and methodologies of classroom and in-car instruction, including applying classroom and in-car teaching techniques for delivering concurrent instruction; applying perception, vehicle balance, speed control, and other risk management principles to the development of precision driving skills; and understanding program administrative tasks, including juvenile licensing laws and issuance of a driver's license; a minimum of 14 hours of actual behind-the-wheel supervised teaching experience demonstrating vehicle control skills and performance capabilities that includes 2 hours of basic evasive maneuvers; and a minimum of 14 hours of mentorship with a licensed, endorsed driver education teacher: 3 semester hours.

4. A current, valid Virginia driver's license. School divisions are to ensure that teachers of driver education hold a valid driver's license.

Statutory Authority

§§ 22.1-298.1 and 22.1-299 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 34, Issue 24, eff. August 23, 2018.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.