Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 8. Education
Agency 20. State Board Of Education
Chapter 23. Licensure Regulations for School Personnel
5/12/2021

8VAC20-23-730. Cancellation.

A. A license may be canceled by the voluntary return of the license by the license holder in response to a petition for revocation or suspension or pursuant to a court order. Reasons for cancellation are the same as those listed under 8VAC20-23-720 A.

B. The individual may voluntarily return the license to the division superintendent or the Superintendent of Public Instruction with a written, signed statement requesting cancellation. The individual shall acknowledge in the request that he understands that the notice of cancellation will include the statement: "The license holder voluntarily surrendered his teaching license and requested cancellation. Reasons for cancellation are the same as those for revocation." The individual shall also acknowledge that he understands that the notice of cancellation will include the statement: "The license holder voluntarily surrendered the license in response to a petition for revocation or suspension or a court order." The individual also shall acknowledge that he understands that the cancellation of the license will be reported to division superintendents in Virginia and, through a national clearinghouse, to chief state school officers of the other states and territories of the United States. The division superintendent shall forward any request for cancellation and, if applicable, the petition for revocation or suspension to the Superintendent of Public Instruction within 14 days of receipt. The Superintendent of Public Instruction shall cancel the license and send the person a notice of cancellation by certified mail within 14 days of receipt of the request for cancellation.

C. A license that has been canceled may be reinstated by the Virginia Board of Education if the board is satisfied that reinstatement is in the best interest of the public schools of the Commonwealth of Virginia. The individual seeking reinstatement shall submit a written request and completed application to the board. Notification to all appropriate parties will be communicated in writing by the Virginia Department of Education.

Statutory Authority

§§ 22.1-298.1 and 22.1-299 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 34, Issue 24, eff. August 23, 2018.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.