Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 8. Education
Agency 20. State Board of Education
Chapter 770. Background checks for child day programs and family day systems
5/29/2022

8VAC20-770-50. Explaining requirements for satisfactory background checks.

A. The department and registering and approving authorities must require documentation of satisfactory background checks for applicants, agents, employees, volunteers, and others living in family day homes as specified in 8VAC20-770-40.

1. A satisfactory sworn statement or affirmation is:

a. A fully completed original that states that the person does not have an offense; and

b. There is no other knowledge that the individual has an unsatisfactory background.

Criminal convictions include prior adult convictions and juvenile convictions or adjudications of delinquency based on a crime that would be a felony if committed by an adult within or outside the Commonwealth. Convictions also include convictions in other states that are equivalent to those specified in this section.

2. A satisfactory central registry finding is one in which:

a. A copy of the Department of Social Services child protective services check form is returned to the requesting agency, the Department, or local department of social services indicating that, as of the date on the reply, the individual whose name was searched is not identified in the central registry as an involved caregiver with a founded disposition of child abuse/neglect; and

b. There is no other knowledge that the individual has a founded disposition in Virginia or elsewhere.

3. A satisfactory criminal history record check report is one in which:

a. An original hard copy or Internet inquiry reply from the Department of State Police is returned to the agency, individual or authorized agent making the request with:

(1) No convictions indicated; or

(2) Convictions indicated, but no barrier crimes, offenses, or other felony convictions in the last five years;

b. A letter is received from the Office of Background Investigations with a finding of "eligible"; and

c. There is no other knowledge that the individual has an offense in Virginia or elsewhere.

The facility must have viewed an original criminal history record report maintained by a contract employee or contract agency that is dated less than six months before the independent contract employee or contract employee is hired by a contract agency begins providing services at the facility.(See also 8VAC20-770-90.)

4. A licensed child day center may hire for compensated employment persons who have been convicted of not more than one misdemeanor offense as defined in § 18.2-57 of the Code of Virginia if 10 years have elapsed following the conviction, unless the person committed such offense while employed in a child day center or the object of the offense was a minor.

B. Background checks results are not open ended.

1. When a minor living in a family day home turns 18 years of age, the operator is responsible for making sure that the 18-year-old complies with all background check requirements for adults pursuant to 8VAC20-770-40 D.

2. Operators must submit new background checks as part of the renewal application packages of registered family day homes. With the exception of those facilities that are exempt per § 22.1-289.031 of the Code of Virginia, background checks are required every three years for all other persons required to have background checks pursuant to 8VAC20-770-40 D.

3. If a person leaves a facility and the criminal history record report or central registry check finding is less than 91 days old, the person must be permitted to take the report or reports with him. The facility must keep a copy of any report a person takes and write on it that it is a copy, and that the original of any criminal history record report was verified.

4. Unless there is a criminal conviction or a founded complaint of child abuse and neglect during that period, a background check remains valid at a facility if no more than 12 consecutive months have passed from when a person:

a. Began a leave of absence from that facility;

b. Was terminated from employment at that facility; or

c. Was transferred to a center owned and operated by the same employer or entity.

5. The facility, department, or registering or approving authority may require a new background check relevant to this suspicion if there is reason to suspect that a person who has submitted acceptable background checks, as required by this chapter, has an offense in Virginia or elsewhere.

6. When the facility, department, or registering or approving authority chooses to require a new background check:

a. The facility, department, or registering or approving authority may allow the person to continue the same relationship with the child day program until the child care provider or licensing, registering, or approval authority receives the new Virginia background check information or equivalent documentation from another state; or

b. If there is reason to suspect that a person has an offense, the facility, department, or registering or approving authority may require that the person not be alone with children, even if the documentation is not Virginia background check information or equivalent information from another state.

C. Waivers of some criminal convictions are possible. Refer to 8VAC20-770-90 through 8VAC20-770-130 for an explanation of the waiver.

Statutory Authority

§§ 22.1-16 and 22.1-289.046 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 37, Issue 24, eff. July 1, 2021.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.