Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 9. Environment
Agency 20. Virginia Waste Management Board
Chapter 170. Transportation of Solid and Medical Wastes on State Waters
7/13/2020

9VAC20-170-190. Permit Fee Requirements.

A. Purpose. The purpose of this section is to establish schedules and procedures pertaining to the payment and collection of fees from any owner or operator of a receiving facility seeking a new permit by rule or seeking a modification to an existing permit by rule. It also establishes schedules and procedures pertaining to the payment and collection of inspection fees from any owner or operator of a receiving facility.

B. Payment, deposit and use of fees.

1. Due date. All permit certification fees are due on the submittal day of the certification package. The inspection fees for the first year or portion of a year are due as part of the permit certification. Thereafter, all inspection fees are due March 1.

2. Method of payment. Fees shall be paid by check, draft or postal money order made payable to "Treasurer of Virginia/DEQ", and shall be sent to the Department of Environmental Quality, Receipts Control, P.O. Box 1104, Richmond, VA 23218.

3. Incomplete payments. All incomplete payments will be deemed nonpayments.

4. Late payment. No certifications will be deemed complete until the department receives proper payment. In the event that the inspection fee is not received by the department on or prior to March 1, the owner or operator of the facility will be considered to be operating an unpermitted facility.

5. Fee schedules. Each certification for a permit by rule or each certification for a modification to a permit by rule is a separate action and shall be assessed a separate fee. The amount of the permit certification fee is based on the costs associated with the permitting program required by this chapter. An inspection fee will be collected annually and its amount is based on the costs associated with the inspections program conducted by the department on at least a quarterly basis. The fee schedules are shown in the following table.

Type of Action

Fee

Initial certification

$6,200

Modification

with a closure plan amendment
without a closure plan amendment

$2,500
$1,250

Inspections

$10,000

Statutory Authority

§ 10.1-1402 and 10.1-1454.1 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Volume 19, Issue 19, eff. July 2, 2003; amended, Virginia Register Volume 28, Issue 23, eff. August 15, 2012.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.