Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 9. Environment
Agency 25. State Water Control Board
Chapter 650. Closure Plans and Demonstration of Financial Capability
1/25/2020

9VAC25-650-160. Release of the Owner or Operator from the Financial Assurance Requirements.

A. Where the closure plan results in the termination of discharge to state waters and a VPDES permit for the discharge is no longer required, the board shall verify, within 60 days after receiving certification from the owner or operator that the closure plan has been completed in accordance with the requirements of the approved closure plan, permit or other order, whether the closure plan has been completed. Unless the board has reason to believe that the closure plan has not been implemented in accordance with the appropriate plan or other requirements, the board shall notify the owner or operator in writing that the owner or operator is no longer required to maintain financial assurance for the particular facility. Such notice shall release the owner or operator only from the requirements for financial assurance for the facility; it does not release the owner or operator from legal responsibility for meeting the facility closure standards. If no written notice of termination of financial assurance requirements or of failure to properly implement the closure plan is received by the owner or operator within 60 days after certifying proper implementation of the closure plan, the owner or operator may request the board for an immediate decision in which case the board shall respond within 10 days after receipt of such request.

B. Where a VDPES permit for the facility is no longer required under State Water Control Law, the board shall notify the owner or operator in writing that the owner or operator is no longer required to maintain financial assurance for the facility. Such notice shall release the owner or operator only from the requirements for financial assurance for the facility.

Statutory Authority

§§ 62.1-44.15 and 62.1-44.18:3 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Volume 18, Issue 04, eff. December 5, 2001.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.