Administrative Code

Creating a Report: Check the sections you'd like to appear in the report, then use the "Create Report" button at the bottom of the page to generate your report. Once the report is generated you'll then have the option to download it as a pdf, print or email the report.

Virginia Administrative Code
Title 9. Environment
Agency 5. State Air Pollution Control Board
Chapter 80. Permits for Stationary Sources

9VAC5-80-1675. Compliance determination and verification by performance testing.

A. Compliance with standards of performance shall be determined in accordance with the provisions of 9VAC5-50-20 and shall be verified by performance tests in accordance with the provisions of 9VAC5-50-30.

B. Testing required by this section shall be conducted within 60 days by the owner after achieving the maximum production rate at which the new or modified source will be operated, but not later than 180 days after initial startup of the source; and 60 days thereafter the department shall be provided by the owner with two or, upon request, more copies of a written report of the results of the tests.

C. The requirements of this section shall be met unless the department:

1. Specifies or approves, in specific cases, the use of a reference method with minor changes in methodology;

2. Approves the use of an equivalent method;

3. Approves the use of an alternative method, the results of which the department has determined to be adequate for indicating whether a specific source is in compliance;

4. Waives the requirement for testing because, based upon a technical evaluation of the past performance of similar source types, using similar control methods, the department reasonably expects the new or modified source to perform in compliance with applicable standards; or

5. Waives the requirement for testing because the owner of the source has demonstrated by other means to the department's satisfaction that the source is in compliance with the applicable standard.

D. The provisions for the granting of waivers under subsection C of this section are intended for use in determining the initial compliance status of a source. The granting of a waiver does not obligate the department to grant any waivers once the source has been in operation for more than one year beyond the initial startup date.

E. The granting of a waiver under this section does not shield the source from potential enforcement of any permit term or condition, applicable requirements of the implementation plan, or any other applicable federal requirements promulgated under the federal Clean Air Act.

Statutory Authority

§ 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia.

Historical Notes

Derived from Virginia Register Volume 22, Issue 23, eff. September 1, 2006; amended, Virginia Register Volume 39, Issue 5, eff. November 23, 2022.

Website addresses provided in the Virginia Administrative Code to documents incorporated by reference are for the reader's convenience only, may not necessarily be active or current, and should not be relied upon. To ensure the information incorporated by reference is accurate, the reader is encouraged to use the source document described in the regulation.

As a service to the public, the Virginia Administrative Code is provided online by the Virginia General Assembly. We are unable to answer legal questions or respond to requests for legal advice, including application of law to specific fact. To understand and protect your legal rights, you should consult an attorney.